PGA TOURLeaderboardWatch + ListenNewsFedExCupSchedulePlayersStatsGolfbetSignature EventsComcast Business TOUR TOP 10Aon Better DecisionsDP World Tour Eligibility RankingsHow It WorksPGA TOUR TrainingTicketsShopPGA TOURPGA TOUR ChampionsKorn Ferry TourPGA TOUR AmericasLPGA TOURDP World TourPGA TOUR University

Inside the Field: The American Express

4 Min Read

Inside the Field

Inside the Field: The American Express

    Written by Staff

    Viktor Hovland captures win on 72nd hole at Hero

    The PGA TOUR uses a standardized system for determining event fields, based off the current season’s Priority Ranking while also including additional exemption and qualifying categories.

    Field sizes can vary by event, as can the number of event-specific exemptions. Fully exempt PGA TOUR members are guaranteed entry into all full-field events, with various conditional categories subject to periodic reshuffles based upon FedExCup Points accrued throughout the season. Categories with 'reshuffle' notation indicate that a reshuffle period has occurred.

    Note: An additional year of eligibility was granted to some categories because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

    Scroll below for the The American Express field list as of Friday, January 13th at 5 p.m. ET.

    Winner of Masters Tournament (five-year exemption)
    Scottie Scheffler

    Winner of U.S. Open Championship (five-year exemption)
    Jon Rahm

    Winner of Arnold Palmer Invitational, Memorial Tournament and Genesis Invitational (three-year exemption)
    Patrick Cantlay

    FedExCup Champion (five-year exemption)
    Justin Rose

    Member of most recent U.S. Ryder Cup team
    Harris English
    Tony Finau

    Member of most recent U.S.Presidents Cup team
    Sam Burns
    Xander Schauffele
    Cameron Young

    Member of most recent International Presidents Cup team
    Christiaan Bezuidenhout
    Cam Davis
    Sungjae Im
    Si Woo Kim
    Tom Kim
    K.H. Lee
    Sebastián Muñoz
    Taylor Pendrith

    Career money exemption
    Jason Dufner
    Zach Johnson
    Ryan Moore
    Rory Sabbatini
    Jimmy Walker

    Past Champion of Bob Hope Chrysler Classic
    Brian Gay
    Bill Haas
    Andrew Landry
    Adam Long

    PGA Section Champion
    Michael Block

    Sponsor exemption (members not otherwise exempt)
    Sung Kang

    Sponsor exemption (unrestricted)
    John Pak
    Taiga Semikawa
    Caleb Surratt
    Gunner Wiebe

    PGA TOUR tournament winner (two-year exemption)
    Ryan Brehm
    Stewart Cink
    Joel Dahmen
    Jason Day
    Tyler Duncan
    Rickie Fowler
    Lucas Glover
    Garrick Higgo
    Tom Hoge
    Martin Laird
    Luke List
    J.T. Poston
    Chad Ramey
    Chez Reavie
    Robert Streb
    Nick Taylor
    Michael Thompson
    Brendon Todd
    Erik van Rooyen
    Richy Werenski
    Will Zalatoris

    Top 30 on the FedExCup
    Aaron Wise
    Brian Harman
    Sahith Theegala

    Top 125 on prior season's FedExCup
    Davis Riley
    Denny McCarthy
    Keith Mitchell
    Andrew Putnam
    Emiliano Grillo
    Brendan Steele
    Troy Merritt
    Adam Hadwin
    Taylor Moore
    Chris Kirk
    Alex Smalley
    Wyndham Clark
    Lee Hodges
    John Huh
    Beau Hossler
    Brandon Wu
    Matthew NeSmith
    Dylan Frittelli
    David Lipsky
    Adam Schenk
    Aaron Rai
    Stephan Jaeger
    Patrick Rodgers
    Russell Knox
    Mark Hubbard
    Peter Malnati
    Danny Lee
    Sam Ryder
    Jhonattan Vegas
    Nate Lashley
    James Hahn
    Greyson Sigg
    Scott Piercy
    Callum Tarren
    Max McGreevy
    Chesson Hadley
    Nick Watney
    Doug Ghim
    Kevin Tway
    Matthias Schwab
    Patton Kizzire
    Kramer Hickok
    Justin Lower
    Danny Willett

    # Major medical extension
    Kyle Stanley
    Zac Blair

    Korn Ferry Tour Points winner (The 25 and The Finals 25)
    Justin Suh

    Korn Ferry Tour graduates via The 25 and The Finals 25 (reshuffled)
    Taylor Montgomery
    Thomas Detry
    Tyson Alexander
    Ben Taylor
    Ben Griffin
    Will Gordon
    Kevin Yu
    David Lingmerth
    Robby Shelton
    S.H. Kim
    Byeong Hun An
    Dean Burmester
    Davis Thompson
    Joseph Bramlett
    Harrison Endycott
    Ryan Armour
    Chris Stroud
    Zecheng Dou
    Paul Haley II
    Erik Barnes
    Harry Hall
    Austin Cook
    Brian Stuard
    Eric Cole
    Ben Martin
    MJ Daffue
    Scott Harrington
    Nico Echavarria
    Carl Yuan
    Kyle Westmoreland
    Austin Eckroat
    Michael Kim
    Brice Garnett
    Brent Grant
    Tano Goya
    Philip Knowles
    Vincent Norrman
    Trevor Cone
    Brandon Matthews
    Kevin Roy
    Matti Schmid
    Michael Gligic
    Carson Young
    Samuel Stevens
    Trevor Werbylo
    Augusto Núñez
    Anders Albertson

    Nos. 126-150 on prior season's FedExCup Points List (reshuffled)
    Harry Higgs
    Satoshi Kodaira
    Andrew Novak

    # = Latest medical extension information can be found here.

    Privacy PolicyTerms of UseAccessibility StatementDo Not Sell or Share My Personal InformationCookie ChoicesSitemap

    Copyright © 2024 PGA TOUR, Inc. All rights reserved.

    PGA TOUR, PGA TOUR Champions, and the Swinging Golfer design are registered trademarks. The Korn Ferry trademark is also a registered trademark, and is used in the Korn Ferry Tour logo with permission.