PGA TOURLeaderboardWatchNewsFedExCupSchedulePlayersStatsGolfbetMorePGA TOURPGA TOUR ChampionsKorn Ferry TourPGA TOUR CanadaPGA TOUR LatinoaméricaLPGA TOURDP World TourPGA TOUR University

Inside the Field: U.S. Open

5 Min Read

Inside the Field

    Written by Staff @PGATOUR

    The 122nd U.S. Open takes place next week from Brookline, Massachussetts, at venerable host The Country Club.

    Scroll below to see how players earn exemptions into the U.S. Open and for the full field list, including the dozens of players who qualified. The field below is listed in alphabetical order as of Friday, June 10th at 5 p.m. ET:

    * - (a) denotes amateur


    1) Winners of the U.S. Open the last 10 years (2012-21)
    2) From the 2021 U.S. Open , the 10 lowest scorers and anyone tying for 10th place
    3) Winner of the 2021 U.S. Senior Open
    4) Winner of the 2021 U.S. Amateur
    5) Winners of the 2021 U.S. Junior and U.S. Mid-Amateur and the 2021 U.S. Amateur runner-up (must be an amateur)
    6) Winners of the Masters Tournament the last five years (2018-22)
    7) Winners of the PGA Championship (2017-22)
    8) Winners of The Open the last five years (2017-21)
    9) Winners of the 2021 and 2022 PLAYERS Championship
    10) Winner of the 2021 BMW PGA Championship
    11) Those players who qualified for the season-ending 2021 Tour Championship
    12) Winners of PGA TOUR events that award full FedExCup points (June 2021-June 2022)
    13) Winner of the 2021 Amateur Championship (must be an amateur)
    14) Winner of the 2021 Mark H. McCormack Medal (top-ranked in WAGR & must be an amateur)
    15) Winner of the 2020 Olympic Gold Medal (contested in 2021)
    16) From the four-event U.S. Open 2022 European Qualifying Series (Betfred British Masters, Soudal Open, Dutch Open and Porsche European Open), the top 10 aggregate point earners that are not otherwise exempt
    17) From the 2020-21 Asian Tour Final Order of Merit, the top finisher who is not otherwise exempt as of May 23
    18) From the 2021-22 ISPS HANDA PGA Tour of Australasia Final Order of Merit, the top finisher who is not otherwise exempt as of May 23
    19) From the 2021-22 Sunshine Tour Order of Merit, the leading player who is not otherwise exempt as of May 23
    20) Top 60 point leaders and ties from the current Official World Golf Ranking as of May 23, 2022
    21) Top 60 point leaders and ties from the current Official World Golf Ranking as of June 6, 2022
    22) Special exemptions selected by the USGA


    Abraham Ancer
    Adri Arnaus
    Erik Barnes
    Andrew Beckler
    Sam Bennett (a)
    Daniel Berger
    Wil Besseling
    Fred Biondi (a)
    Richard Bland
    Jonas Blixt
    Keegan Bradley
    Joseph Bramlett
    Hayden Buckley
    Sam Burns
    Brady Calkins
    Patrick Cantlay
    Kevin Chappell
    Stewart Cink
    Wyndham Clark
    Corey Conners
    Sean Crocker
    Matthys Daffue
    Joel Dahmen
    Bryson DeChambeau
    Adrien Dumont de Chassart (a)
    Nicholas Dunlap (a)
    Harris English
    Tony Finau
    Matthew Fitzpatrick
    Tommy Fleetwood
    Ryan Fox
    Jim Furyk
    Luke Gannon
    Sergio Garcia
    Ryan Gerard
    Talor Gooch
    Chris Gotterup
    Branden Grace
    Austin Greaser (a)
    Keith Greene
    Lanto Griffin
    Adam Hadwin
    Stewart Hagestad (a)
    Harry Hall
    Brian Harman
    Tyrrell Hatton
    Russell Henley
    Lucas Herbert
    Bo Hoag
    Tom Hoge
    Max Homa
    Billy Horschel
    Sam Horsfield
    Rikuya Hoshino
    Beau Hossler
    Viktor Hovland
    Mackenzie Hughes
    Sungjae Im
    Daijiro Izumida
    Sean Jacklin
    Dustin Johnson
    Martin Kaymer
    Si Woo Kim
    Chan Kim
    Joohyun Kim
    Kevin Kisner
    Kurt Kitayama
    Satoshi Kodaira
    Brooks Koepka
    Jason Kokrak
    Junichiro Kozuma
    Kyoung-Hoon Lee
    Danny Lee
    Min Woo Lee
    Marc Leishman
    Luke List
    Ben Lorenz (a)
    Shane Lowry
    Richard Mansell
    Caleb Manuel (a)
    Hideki Matsuyama
    Brandon Matthews
    Denny McCarthy
    Matt McCarty
    Rory McIlroy
    Troy Merritt
    Phil Mickelson
    Guido Migliozzi
    Maxwell Moldovan (a)
    Francesco Molinari
    Taylor Montgomery
    Jed Morgan
    Collin Morikawa
    William Mouw (a)
    Jesse Mueller
    Sebastian Munoz
    Grayson Murray
    Kevin Na
    Chris Naegel
    Keita Nakajima (a)
    Matthew NeSmith
    Joaquin Niemann
    Alex Noren
    Shaun Norris
    Andrew Novak
    Thorbjorn Olesen
    Louis Oosthuizen
    Yannik Paul
    Mito Pereira
    Victor Perez
    Thomas Pieters
    James Piot
    Seamus Power
    Andrew Putnam
    Fran Quinn
    Jon Rahm
    Patrick Reed
    Charles Reiter (a)
    Davis Riley
    Patrick Rodgers
    Justin Rose
    Isaiah Salinda
    Kalle Samooja
    Xander Schauffele
    Scottie Scheffler
    Adam Schenk
    Marcel Schneider
    Adam Scott
    Chase Seiffert
    Laird Shepherd (a)
    Davis Shore
    Ben Silverman
    Webb Simpson
    Todd Sinnott
    Roger Sloan
    Cameron Smith
    Sebastian Soderberg
    Jordan Spieth
    Scott Stallings
    Sam Stevens
    Sepp Straka
    Brian Stuard
    Tomoyaso Sugiyama
    Callum Tarren
    Nick Taylor
    Justin Thomas
    Michael Thorbjornsen (a)
    Cameron Tringale
    Erik Van Rooyen
    Harold Varner III
    Travis Vick (a)
    Aaron Wise
    Gary Woodland
    Cameron Young
    Will Zalatoris

    The PGA TOUR uses a standardized system for determining event fields, based off the current season’s Priority Ranking while also including additional exemption and qualifying categories.

    Field sizes can vary by event, as can the number of event-specific exemptions. Fully exempt PGA TOUR members are guaranteed entry into all full-field events, with various conditional categories subject to periodic reshuffles based upon FedExCup Points accrued throughout the season. Categories with 'reshuffle' notation indicate that a reshuffle period has occurred.

    * = If all prior year Korn Ferry Tour graduates are eligible for event, exemptions become unrestricted

    # = Latest medical extension information can be found here.

    $ = Category breakdown can be found here.

    Privacy PolicyTerms of ServiceAccessibility StatementDo Not Sell or Share My Personal InformationCookie ChoicesSitemap

    Copyright © 2023 PGA TOUR, Inc. All rights reserved.

    PGA TOUR, PGA TOUR Champions, and the Swinging Golfer design are registered trademarks. The Korn Ferry trademark is also a registered trademark, and is used in the Korn Ferry Tour logo with permission.