PGA TOURLeaderboardWatchNewsFedExCupSchedulePlayersStatsGolfbetSignature EventsMorePGA TOURPGA TOUR ChampionsKorn Ferry TourPGA TOUR AmericasLPGA TOURDP World TourPGA TOUR University

How it works: Format, teams at Grant Thornton Invitational

1 Min Read

How It Works

How it works: Format, teams at Grant Thornton Invitational

    Written by Staff @PGATOUR

    The Grant Thornton Invitational is a mixed-team co-sanctioned event between the LPGA and PGA TOUR hosted at Tiburón Golf Club in Naples, Florida. Stars from the men's and women's games will pair up into 16 teams and will play three different formats over three rounds. Click here to see how to watch all the action.


    The 16 mixed teams will play three distinct formats including Scramble, Foursomes and modified Four-ball.

    Round 1: Scramble – The first round will feature Scramble, where each player hits a tee shot and then the team selects the ball to be used for the next stroke. From there, both players hit their next shots from that spot. This process continues until the ball is holed.

    Round 2: Foursomes – The second round will utilize Foursomes (also called alternate shot), where each player on a team alternates hitting shots with the same ball until the ball is holed. One player is elected at the start of the round to tee off on the odd-numbered holes, while the other will tee off on the even-numbered holes.

    Round 3: Modified Four-ball – The third round will feature a new format for team play. In the “Modified Four-ball,” both players will tee off and then they will switch balls for their second shots and play that ball until holed. The lower score of the partners will count as the team score.


    Madelene SagströmLudvig ÅbergÅberg will tee it up for the first time since his breakthrough TOUR win at The RSM Classic. Åberg’s caddie Jack Clarke is engaged to Sagström, who had three top-10 finishes on the LPGA this season and played in the Solheim Cup as a captain’s pick.
    Allisen CorpuzCameron ChampCorpuz, a second-year LPGA member, notched five top 10s this season including a major triumph at the U.S. Women’s Open at Pebble Beach. Champ had three top 10s this season.
    Brooke HendersonCorey ConnersThe all-Canadian squad features Henderson, who won the LPGA’s 2023 season opener – the Hilton Grand Vacations Tournament of Champions – and Conners, the country’s top-ranked male golfer. Conners won the Valero Texas Open earlier in 2023. Henderson is the winningest Canadian golfer – on the LPGA
    Lilia VuJoel DahmenVu comes into the week after earning 2023 LPGA Player of the Year honors. She won four times this season including two majors. Dahmen, meanwhile, had five top 10s and finished 84th in the FedExCup.
    Lydia KoJason DayThis year, Day returned to the PGA TOUR winner’s circle for the first time since 2018 at the AT&T Byron Nelson and finished 28th in the FedExCup. Ko entered 2023 after a Player of the Year campaign the season prior. She is 11th in the world ranking.
    Celine BoutierHarris EnglishLike Vu, Boutier won four times on the LPGA this season including a major (Amundi Evian Championship). English, meanwhile, won this event’s previous iteration three times alongside partner Matt Kuchar along with two runner-up finishes.
    Nelly KordaTony FinauLast year, Korda paired with Denny McCarthy at this event’s previous iteration. This year, Korda – who had nine LPGA top 10s this year and won on the Ladies European Tour – is alongside Finau, who won twice on the PGA TOUR this season.
    Lexi ThompsonRickie FowlerThis year, Fowler returned to the TOUR winner’s circle for the first time since 2019 and returned to the Ryder Cup as well. Thompson nearly made the cut at the Shriners Children’s Open on the PGA TOUR this fall and ended her LPGA season with three straight top 10s – her best results of the year.
    Leona MaguireLucas GloverGlover won back-to-back events on TOUR this fall including the FedEx St. Jude Championship to open the FedExCup Playoffs. Maguire, meanwhile, won the Meijer LPGA Classic and had six top 10s.
    Mel ReidRussell HenleyThis will be Reid’s first start since she and wife Carly welcomed their son on Nov. 11. Henley won the World Wide Technology Championship and ended up 14th in the FedExCup standings.
    Cheyenne KnightTom HogeHoge returns to Tiburón as the “defending” champion this year, but with a new partner in Knight. Knight already has a win with a partner this year. She and Elizabeth Szokol won the Dow Great Lakes Bay Invitational on the LPGA (its annual team event) in July.
    Andrea LeeBilly HorschelHorschel finished runner-up at Tiburón in 2021 and had three top-10s on the PGA TOUR this season. Lee, meanwhile, had the same number of top 10s on the LPGA and made her Solheim Cup debut this fall.
    Megan KhangDenny McCarthyMcCarthy, who finished T5 alongside Nelly Korda last year at this event’s prior iteration, will now pair with Korda’s good friend Megan Khang. Khang captured her first LPGA title this summer at the CPKC Women’s Open and was a sparkplug on the American Solheim Cup team.
    Charley HullJustin RoseAn all-English pairing. Rose won the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am in February, had five top 10s and was a leader on the winning European Ryder Cup team. Hull was part of the European Solheim Cup team that retained the cup, while she had an equal parts impressive and maddening four runner-up finishes in 2023.
    Ruoning YinNick TaylorYin made a big splash in her second year on the LPGA. At just 20, Yin won twice including the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship and reached No. 1 in the world. Taylor won the RBC Canadian Open, becoming the first Canadian to win on home soil on the men’s side in 69 years. Yin’s current caddie used to work for Taylor, while the pair share a short-game coach.
    Rose ZhangSahith TheegalaThe other half of last year’s winning duo, Theegala, will look to put a bow on a fabulous fall after his first TOUR win in September at the Fortinet Championship. He’s paired with Zhang, who made an immediate impact on the LPGA after a star-studded amateur and collegiate career at Stanford. Zhang won her first LPGA start as a pro, the Mizuho Americas Open, the first time that’s happened since 1951.
    Privacy PolicyTerms of ServiceAccessibility StatementDo Not Sell or Share My Personal InformationCookie ChoicesSitemap

    Copyright © 2024 PGA TOUR, Inc. All rights reserved.

    PGA TOUR, PGA TOUR Champions, and the Swinging Golfer design are registered trademarks. The Korn Ferry trademark is also a registered trademark, and is used in the Korn Ferry Tour logo with permission.