Woods, Shin, Roberts honored by Golf Writers Association

Getty Images
Tiger Woods, Jiyai Shin and Loren Roberts were honored as the best players on their respective tours by golf writers.
December 17, 2009
PGA TOUR staff

HOUSTON -- Tiger Woods, Jiyai Shin and Loren Roberts have been named 2009 Players of the Year by the Golf Writers Association of America.

It is the first GWAA POY award for both Shin and Roberts. It is the 10th time in the last 13 years Woods has won the award. All three players will be honored at the GWAA's Annual Awards Dinner April 7, 2010 in Augusta, Ga.

Woods received 84 percent of the vote (168 votes) to 10 percent for Steve Stricker (20) and six percent (13) for PGA Champion Y.E. Yang. Shin's margin was the narrowest .She received 52 percent of the vote (105) to 42 percent for Ochoa (85) and six percent (11) for Cristie Kerr.

Roberts collected 55 percent of the vote (111) to 39 percent for Bernhard Langer (78) and five percent for Fred Funk (10).

Voting for the GWAA the awards opened Nov. 24 and 48.75 percent of the ballots were cast before the news of Woods' automobile accident near his home in Florida broke at approx 2 p.m. CST Nov. 27.

The balloting closed at midnight Dec. 11, the same night Woods announced in a statement he was taking an indefinite leave from the PGA TOUR. Woods admitted on his Web site that he had let his family down and was stepping away from competitive golf to work on saving his marriage and his family.

Woods acknowledged in the statement "transgressions" that he said were not "true to my values."

Woods underwent major knee surgery in June 2008 and came back to win six times on the PGA TOUR in 2009 and seven times overall. He also topped the money list for the ninth time and won his second FedExCup in three years.

Shin won three times in 2009 and was the LPGA's Rookie of the Year. She lost the LPGA's Player of the Year award to Ochoa by just one point in a race that went down to the final round of the LPGA Tour Championship. Shin led the money list and was second in scoring average.

Roberts won three times, including the Senior Open Championship at Sunningdale, and won the Charles Schwab Cup for the second time in three years. He finished second on the money list behind Langer, who won four times.

Past players honored by GWAA
Year Male Player of the Year Female Player of the Year Senior Player of the Year
1975 Jack Nicklaus Sandra Palmer --
1976 Jack Nicklaus and Jerry Pate (tie) Judy Rankin --
1977 Tom Watson Judy Rankin --
1978 Tom Watson Nancy Lopez --
1979 Tom Watson Nancy Lopez --
1980 Tom Watson Beth Daniel --
1981 Tom Kite Donna Caponi --
1982 Tom Watson JoAnne Carner --
1983 Hal Sutton JoAnne Carner --
1984 Tom Watson Patty Sheehan --
1985 Curtis Strange Nancy Lopez --
1986 Greg Norman Pat Bradley Bruce Crampton
1987 Curtis Strange Betsy King Chi Chi Rodriguez
1988 Curtis Strange Sherri Turner Bob Charles
1989 Tom Kite Mary Bea Porter Bob Charles
1990 Nick Faldo Beth Daniel Lee Trevino
1991 Fred Couples Meg Mallon Mike Hill
1992 Fred Couples Dottie Mochrie Lee Trevino
1993 Nick Price Patty Sheehan Dave Stockton
1994 Nick Price Laura Davies Dave Stockton
1995 Greg Norman Annika Sorenstam Jim Colbert
1996 Tom Lehman Laura Davies Jim Colbert
1997 Tiger Woods Annika Sorenstam Hale Irwin
1998 Mark O'Meara Se Ri Pak Hale Irwin
1999 Tiger Woods Juli Inkster Bruce Fleisher
2000 Tiger Woods Karrie Webb Larry Nelson
2001 Tiger Woods Annika Sorenstam Allen Doyle
2002 Tiger Woods Annika Sorenstam Hale Irwin
2003 Tiger Woods Annika Sorenstam Tom Watson
2004 Vijay Singh Annika Sorenstam Craig Stadler
2005 Tiger Woods Annika Sorenstam Dana Quigley
2006 Tiger Woods Lorena Ochoa Jay Haas
2007 Tiger Woods Lorena Ochoa Jay Haas
2008 Padraig Harrington Lorena Ochoa Jay Haas
2009 Tiger Woods Jiyai Shin Loren Roberts