PGA TOUR ChampionsLeaderboardWatchNewsSchwab CupSchedulePlayersStatsMorePGA TOURPGA TOUR ChampionsKorn Ferry TourPGA TOUR CanadaPGA TOUR LatinoaméricaLPGA TOURDP World TourPGA TOUR University

How it works: Charles Schwab Cup Playoffs

1 Min Read


    Written by Staff @PGATOUR

    The Charles Schwab Cup Playoffs are a three-tournament series used to determine the winner of the 2022 Charles Schwab Cup.

    TournamentDatesLocationField sizeHoles
    Dominion Energy Charity ClassicOctober 21-23Richmond, Virginia72 players54
    TimberTech ChampionshipNovember 4-6Boca Raton, Florida54 players54
    Charles Schwab Cup ChampionshipNovember 10-13Phoenix, Arizona36 players72

    Before the start of the Playoffs, the season-long Money List is converted to the Charles Schwab Cup Points List. All three Playoff events will provide double points ($1 = 2 points).

    The top 72 players on the Charles Schwab Cup Points List at the end of the regular season, which concluded at the SAS Championship, will advance to the first Playoffs event, the Dominion Energy Charity Classic (October 21-23).

    DOMINION ENERGY CHARITY CLASSIC:Full field | Power Rankings

    The top 54 players on the Charles Schwab Cup Points List after the Dominion Energy Charity Classic will advance to the second Playoffs event, the TimberTech Championship (November 4-6).

    The top 36 players on the Charles Schwab Cup Points List after the TimberTech Championship will advance to the third and final Playoffs event, the Charles Schwab Cup Championship (November 10-13).

    The top 10 on the 2022 Charles Schwab Cup standings at the conclusion of the regular season:

    RankPlayerCharles Schwab Cup points
    No. 1Steven Alker2,915,415
    No. 2Padraig Harrington2,571,055
    No. 3Steve Stricker2,473,725
    No. 4Jerry Kelly2,158,433
    No. 5Miguel Angel Jimenez2,034,413
    No. 6Ernie Els1,474,569
    No. 7Bernhard Langer1,381,006
    No. 8Thongchai Jaidee1,369,101
    No. 9Stephen Ames1,359,380
    No. 10Steve Flesch1,063,558

    Last Year’s Playoffs

    Last year, Steven Alker was the lone player to move from outside to inside the number to advance during the Playoffs. He did it twice.

    2021 Dominion Energy Charity Classic: Alker (T4) went from 55th to 46th on the Points List, moving inside the top 54, to advance to the second playoff event.

    2021 TimberTech Championship: Alker (Won) went from 46th to 22nd on the Points List, moving inside the top 36, to advance to the third playoff event.

    Bernhard Langer won his record-extending sixth Charles Schwab Cup in 2020-21.

    Charles Schwab Cup champions

    YearCharles Schwab Cup champion
    2001Allen Doyle
    2002Hale Irwin
    2003Tom Watson
    2004Hale Irwin
    2005Tom Watson
    2006Jay Haas
    2007Loren Roberts
    2008Jay Haas
    2009Loren Roberts
    2010Bernhard Langer
    2011Tom Lehman
    2012Tom Lehman
    2013Kenny Perry
    2014Bernhard Langer
    2015Bernhard Langer
    2016Bernhard Langer
    2017Kevin Sutherland
    2018Bernhard Langer
    2019Scott McCarron
    2020-21Bernhard Langer