PGA TOUR LatinoaméricaLeaderboardWatchNewsTotalplay CupDev SeriesSchedulePlayersStatsShopPGA TOURPGA TOUR ChampionsKorn Ferry TourPGA TOUR CanadaPGA TOUR LatinoaméricaLPGA TOURDP World TourPGA TOUR University

Lilliedahl wins Zurich Argentina Swing

2 Min Read


    Written by Staff @PGATOUR

    BERAZATEGUI, Argentina—Looking back, Sweden’s Linus Lilliedahl locked up the Zurich Argentina Swing title with his performance in the 2022-23 PGA TOUR Latinoamérica’s first two weeks of the season. Although he didn’t win either tournament, Lilliedahl finished second in both tournaments, earning 300 points, and taking the lead after the Neuquén Argentina Classic. He never relinquished his advantage and walked away from the Roberto De Vicenzo Memorial 100 Years as this season’s Zurich Argentina Swing champion. For his efforts in the four PGA TOUR Latinoamérica Argentina-based tournaments, Lilliedahl earned U.S. $10,000 in the winner-take-all program.

    “This is for sure a nice consolation. With those good performances, I’m happy they carried me the entire way,” said Lilliedahl of his near misses early in the season that still helped lead to this victory. “The 10K doesn’t hurt. I’ll find a use for it. I’m happy.”

    Lilliedahl entered this week’s Zurich Argentina Swing finale holding a 114-point advantage. Only nine players began the tournament at Ranelagh Golf Club with a mathematical chance to win, and that number dropped to five after the 36-hole cut. Lilliedahl hung on to win the Swing by shooting rounds of 68-70-71-74 to tie for 41st, earning 12 points that gave him a 15-point victory over runner-up Chandler Blanchet. In the four Zurich Argentina Swing tournaments, Lilliedahl was a combined 42-under, with 15 of his 16 scores par or better.

    “The Zurich Argentina Swing is definitely a bit of an extra carrot for us,” Lilliedahl continued. “It’s massive for all of us players. It means the world to use to have the chance to play for something additional, so we all really appreciate what Zurich does for this Tour.”

    Lilliedahl is the second European to walk away with the Zurich Argentina Swing title, joining Spain’s Samuel Del Val, the 2016 champ. A year ago, current Korn Ferry Tour member Jorge Fernández Valdés won the Swing. Zurich initiated this promotion in 2015, with Kent Bulle winning the inaugural title. He is one of three U.S. players to win, joining Jared Wolfe (2017) and Tom Whitney (2019). Clodomiro Carranza (2018) joined Fernández Valdés as Argentina’s other champion.

    Linus Lilliedahl’s 2022-23 Zurich Argentina Swing Performance

    Visa Argentine Open67-67-71-66—2712
    Neuquen Argentina Classic71-66-70-68—275 2
    Termas de Rio Hondo Invitational69-70-70-68—277 T23
    Roberto De Vicenzo Memorial 100 Years68-70-71-74—283 T41

    Zurich Argentina Swing Champions

    2023Linus Lilliedahl (Sweden)Chandler Blanchet (U.S.)
    2022Jorge Fernández Valdés (Argentina)Alejandro Tosti (Argentina)
    2019Tom Whitney (U.S.)Alejandro Tosti (Argentina)
    2018Clodomiro Carranza (Argentina)Isidro Benitez (Mexico)
    2017Jared Wolfe (U.S.)Julián Etulain (Argentina)
    2016Samuel Del Val (Spain)Anthony Paolucci (U.S.)
    2015Kent Bulle (U.S.)Tommy Cocha (Argentina)