Mexico Open rescheduled for first week of September

May 22, 2009
PGA TOUR staff

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. -- The 2009 Mexico Open presented by Corona Light has been rescheduled for Sept. 3-6, it was announced by Nationwide Tour president Bill Calfee.


By filling these dates, the Tour will now play a tournament every week from July 23-26 (Cox Classic) through the season-ending Nationwide Tour Championship at Daniel Island (S.C.) Oct. 22-25.

The tournament was originally set to be played this week at the El Bosque Golf Club in Leon, Guanajuato, Mexico, about 200 miles northwest of Mexico City. It was postponed due to the swine flu outbreak.

"After following developments closely in Mexico, we have elected to reschedule the Mexico Open presented by Corona Light for the first week in September," said Calfee. "We greatly appreciate the support of the Mexican Golf Federation and On Going Marketing in working through the myriad of details that are involved in making this date change on such short notice. We are looking forward to having a very successful Mexico Open in September at El Bosque Golf Club."

The $650,000 tournament will feature a 144-man field and a $126,000 first prize. Twenty-two players from Mexico will be invited to participate, as determined by the Mexican Golf Federation. In addition, there will be four players representing the Tour de Las Americas.

The Mexico Open moves to El Bosque Golf Club this year after having been played at Tres Marias Golf Club in Morelia in 2008. This is the second year of the Nationwide Tour's co-sanctioning partnership of the Mexico Open with the Mexican Golf Federation. On Going Marketing of Mexico is the tournament organizer.

The Mexico Open was first played in 1944 and has been won by World Golf Hall of Fame members such as Sam Snead, Jimmy Demaret, Bobby Locke, Roberto De Vicenzo, Billy Casper, Raymond Floyd, Seve Ballesteros, Johnny Miller, Lee Trevino, Ben Crenshaw and Nick Price. Recent champions include former Nationwide Tour member Stewart Cink (1996 and '99) and current member Esteban Toledo (2000). Australian Jarrod Lyle won last year's event, helping propel him to the PGA TOUR this year.