Tavistock Cup modifies play on Monday

text size
Increase Text Size
Decrease Text Size
March 25, 2013

The Tavistock Cup will feature a modified format on Monday at Isleworth due to the rain-delayed finish of the Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by MasterCard.



Sixteen of the 24 players in this year’s Tavistock Cup field will play on Monday. Those Tavistock Cup players who did not finish at the Arnold Palmer Invitational Sunday will join the two-day tournament on Tuesday.

Tavistock Cup’s second round will feature all 24 players in this year’s field representing Albany, Isleworth, Lake Nona Golf & Country Club, Oak Tree National, Primland and Queenwood Golf Club. Team Queenwood has replaced Thomas Bjorn with Martin Laird.

The Tavistock Cup will be televised on Golf Channel Monday following the conclusion of play at the Arnold Palmer Invitational. It will also air live on Golf Channel Tuesday.

Monday’s competition will feature a Better Ball Stroke Play format. Round 1 will not count toward the Tavistock Cup results.

Tavistock Cup will be reduced to an 18-hole individual stoke play format on Tuesday. Each team will count four 18-hole individual scores on Tuesday.

Tavistock Cup’s first-day pairings are as follows:

Group 1 - 12:20 p.m. Tom Lewis and Paul McGinley will play with Bob Tway and Scott Verplank.

Group 2 - 12:35 p.m. Brian Davis and D.A. Points will play with Peter Hanson and Webb Simpson.

Group 3 - 12:50 p.m. Tim Clark and Adam Scott will play with Ross Fisher and Graeme McDowell.

Group 4 - 1:05 p.m. Fred Couples and Jay Haas will play with Bo Van Pelt and Bubba Watson.

The second-round pairings feature individual stroke play. Each team will count four 18-hole individual scores. The team with the lowest score in relation to par on Tuesday will be crowned World Golf and Country Club Champion.


9:20 a.m. Graeme McDowell (Team Lake Nona)
Ian Poulter (Team Albany)
Adam Scott (Team Queenwood)

9:35 a.m. Ross Fisher (Team Lake Nona)
Bill Haas (Team Primland)
D.A. Points (Team Isleworth)

9:50 a.m. Jay Haas (Team Primland)
Paul McGinley (Team Queenwood)
Bob Tway (Team Oak Tree National)

10:05 a.m. Charles Howell III (Team Oak Tree National)
Justin Rose (Team Albany)
Bubba Watson (Team Isleworth)

10:20 a.m. Tim Clark (Team Albany)
Henrik Stenson (Team Lake Nona)
Bo Van Pelt (Team Isleworth)

10:35 a.m. Peter Hanson (Team Lake Nona)
Martin Laird (Team Queenwood)
Webb Simpson (Team Primland)

10:50 a.m. Brian Davis (Team Isleworth)
Tom Lewis (Team Queenwood)
Scott Verplank (Team Oak Tree National)

11:05 a.m. Fred Couples (Team Primland)
Rickie Fowler (Team Oak Tree National)
Tiger Woods (Team Albany)

Each year, Tavistock Cup contestants play for prize money, charity, team hole-in-one prizes and the title of World Golf and Country Club Champion.

Over the last decade, the Tavistock Cup through the Tavistock Foundation has generated millions of dollars for philanthropy including various player charities as well as education, health and human services, youth development and community programs designed to grow the game of golf.

Print This Story