Charles Schwab Cup: Facts and Figures

text size
Increase Text Size
Decrease Text Size
August 21, 2013
By Champions Tour staff

OVERVIEW The Charles Schwab Cup is a season-long, points-based competition launched in 2001 to determine the Champions Tour's leading player. The program rewards both consistency and top-10 finishes week-in and week-out at all official/Charles Schwab Cup events.

PRIZE MONEY $2.1-million annuity to the top-five point earners at season's end.

First $1 million
Second $500,000
Third $300,000
Fourth $200,000
Fifth $100,000

POINTS DISTRIBUTION Points are awarded to the top-10 finishers and ties in all official tournaments and are based on the money distribution for each tournament, with every $1,000 earned being the equivalent of one Charles Schwab Cup point. Points are doubled at the Champions Tour's five major championships and to the entire 30-player field at the season-ending Charles Schwab Cup Championship in November.

MAGIC NUMBER To earn a spot in the 2012 Charles Schwab Cup Championship, players needed $543,169. Below are the earnings for the last player in the field in each of the last 12 years. Note: These figures vary due to increased purse structures and the number of events during that particular season; for instance in 2005 and 2006 there were 27 events prior to the Charles Schwab Cup Championship compared to 29 in 2004, 30 in 2003; 34 in 2002, 36 in 2001, etc.

2012 $543,169
2011 $552,390
2010 $593,125
2009 $517,313
2008 $614,783
2007 $605,038
2006 $614,459
2005 $550,595
2004 $620,367
2003 $680,895
2002 $650,626
2001 $651,864

Print This Story