Welcome aboard

Meet the first 25 of 50 players to receive their PGA TOUR cards for 2017-18 via the Web.com Tour

The first 25 players to receive their TOUR cards via the 2017 Web.com Tour celebrated in grand fashion at Pumpkin Ridge GC's Witch Hollow track. (Steve Dykes/Getty Images)

NORTH PLAINS, Ore. — The first 25 of 50 available PGA TOUR membership cards for the 2017-18 season were secured on Sunday at the Web.com Tour’s final Regular Season event, the WinCo Foods Portland Open presented by Kraft Heinz, contested on the Witch Hollow Course at Pumpkin Ridge Golf Club.

Brice Garnett, who entered the week with a win under his belt at last month’s Utah Championship, posted rounds of 71-67-63-65—266 (18-under) to win by four shots over David Skinns, Sam Ryder, Ben Silverman and Abraham Ancer. The $144,000 first-place check pushed Garnett up to No. 1 on the Web.com Tour money list with $368,761 in season-long earnings.

The 34-year-old will be returning to the PGA TOUR this fall after spending the 2013 through 2016 on golf’s biggest stage, where he notched four top-10 finishes. Garnett, along with the other 24 card earners, will carry over earnings to the Web.com Tour Finals, where positions on the Priority Ranking list, used to set PGA TOUR fields each week, will be finalized.

REGULAR SEASON FINALE: Final round live blog | Full money list

An additional 25 cards will be awarded following the conclusion of the four-event Finals, which begin this week in Columbus, Ohio with the Nationwide Children’s Hospital Championship. The final three events consist of the Albertsons Boise Open presented by Kraft Nabisco (September 11-17), DAP Championship (September 18-24) and Web.com Tour Championship (September 25-October 1). The second set of 25 cards will be based on money earned solely in the Finals.

Mexico’s Roberto Diaz, who spent much of the afternoon nervously watching the leaderboard, earned the 25th and final card with $157,823 in earnings. The former University of South Carolina-Aiken golfer entered the week at No. 24 on the money list and left his fate in the hands of Keith Mitchell after a T43 finish.

Mitchell, who entered Sunday’s round tied for the lead, needed to birdie the par-5 18th to earn his PGA TOUR card, but failed to get up and down from left of the green and wound up at No. 26 on the money list. The closing par allowed Diaz to claim the final card.

The top 25 who secured their 2017-18 PGA TOUR membership are:


1 Brice Garnett

2006 Missouri Western State grad. Won this year's Utah Championship and WinCo Foods Portland Open. Four top-10s this season. Previously graduated from Web.com Tour in 2013.

2 Sam Ryder

2012 Stetson University grad. Won this year's Pinnacle Bank Championship by eight shots. Five top-10 finishes this season.

3 Abraham Ancer

2013 University of Oklahoma grad. Five top-10s this season, including two second-place finishes. Previously graduated from Web.com Tour in 2015.

4 Andrew Landry

2009 University of Arkansas grad. Won 2017 The Bahamas Great Abaco Classic for his second Tour title. Six top-10s this season. Previously graduated from Web.com Tour in 2015.

5 Stephan Jaeger

2012 University of Tennessee-Chattanooga alum. Won this year's BMW Charity Pro-Am and Rust-Oleum Championship for his second and third career titles. Finished 28th on last year's Web.com Tour Regular Season money list.

6 Talor Gooch

2014 Oklahoma State alum. Won this year's News Sentinel Open after a runner-up finish the week before. Five top-10s this season.

7 Kyle Thompson

2001 University of South Carolina alum. Won this year's The Bahamas Great Exuma Classic for his fifth career title. Four top-10s this season. Previously graduated from Web.com Tour in 2008 and 2011.

8 Andrew Putnam

2011 Pepperdine alum. Won this year's Panama Claro Championship. Four top-10s this season. Previously graduated from Web.com Tour in 2014. Newlywed, fresh off honeymoon.

9 Chesson Hadley

2010 Georgia Tech alum. Won this year's LECOM Health Challenge for his third Web.com Tour title. Three top-10s this season. Previously graduated from Web.com Tour in 2013.

10 Ben Silverman

2010 Florida Atlantic alum. Won this year's Price Cutter Charity Championship. Four top-10s this season. He and wife Morgan had their first son, Jack Palmer, on July 18.

11 Nate Lashley

2005 University of Arizona alum. Won this year's Corales Puntacana Resort and Club Championship. Five top-10s this season. 2016 PGA TOUR Latinoamerica Player of the Year.

12 Adam Schenk

2014 Purdue alum. Won this year's Lincoln Land Charity Championship. Five top-10s this season. 

13 Andrew Yun

2013 Stanford alum. Five top-10s this season, including two runner-up finishes. Grew up near fellow grad Andrew Putnam in Washington state.

14 Ted Potter, Jr.

Five top-10 finishes this season, including three top-5s. Previously graduated from Web.com Tour in 2011.

15 Austin Cook

2013 University of Arkansas alum. Six top-10 finishes this season. 

16 Zecheng Dou

Native of Henan, China. Became first Chinese player to win on Tour at this year's Digital Ally Open, where he also became the third-youngest winner in Tour history. Won four times on PGA TOUR China last season.

17 Conrad Shindler

Texas A&M alum and this year's Rex Hospital Open champion. Two top-10 finishes this season. Avid Dallas Stars fan.

18 Aaron Wise

University of Oregon alum and this year's Air Capital Classic champion. As a sophomore in 2015-16, helped the Ducks to their first team NCAA Championship, going 3-0 in match play.

19 Matt Atkins

2013 University of South Carolina-Aiken alum. Won this year's El Bosque Mexico Championship by Innova. Two top-10s this season.

20 Xinjun Zhang

Native of Shanxi, China. Four top-10s this season, including two runners-up. Joins Marty Dou as the first Chinese-born players to earn their PGA TOUR cards.

21 Brandon Harkins

2010 California State University-Chico alum. Four top-10 finishes this season. Proud leader of #HarkNation fan club.

22 Lanto Griffin

2010 Virginia Commonwealth alum. Named 2009 Colonial Athletic Association Player of the Year. Won this year's Nashville Golf Open.

23 Beau Hossler

University of Texas alum. Won 2016 Fred Haskins Award as the year's most outstanding college golfer. Two runner-ups this season, including a solo second at the Air Capital Classic to secure Special Temporary Membership.

24 Ethan Tracy

2013 University of Arkansas alum. Won this year's Club Colombia Championship after holing out from 101 yards for eagle at the 72nd hole to force a playoff with Roberto Diaz, then making birdie at the second playoff hole to take the title.

25 Roberto Díaz

2009 University of South Carolina-Aiken alum. Five top-25 finishes this season, including two top-10s. Qualified for this year's WGC-Mexico Championship.


2019 Web.com Tour eligibility ranking DeChambeau's college teammates Smotherman, Higgs share memories Winner's bag: Mark Hubbard, LECOM Suncoast Classic