24 events down, one left in quest to settle 50 PGA TOUR cards for 2013-2014

September 24, 2013

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. – The quest to secure one of the 50 PGA TOUR cards for the upcoming 2013-14 season among Web.com Tour and PGA TOUR members comes to a conclusion this week with 127 players teeing off on Thursday at TPC Sawgrass Dye’s Valley Course in the Web.com Tour Championship.

The Web.com Tour Championship is the 25th and final event on the 2013 Web.com Tour schedule and fourth in the Tour’s new Web.com Tour Finals.

Twenty-five cards have already been secured by the leading money winners from the Tour’s Regular Season (first 21 tournaments). Twenty-five more cards and the all-important priority positions for all 50 card earners are on the line this week at TPC Sawgrass. The second set of 25 cards will go to the top money winners off the Finals money list who haven’t already secured cards.

The following is the Web.com Tour Finals money list (top 100) through three of the four Finals events. Those with an asterisk have already secured their cards through the Regular Season. If the season were now complete, the first 50 names in the left-hand column would be going to the PGA TOUR. With a $1 million purse and $180,000 first prize available at the Championship, every player in the field is seeking as strong a finish as possible this week in order to gain the highest possible priority ranking, which is used to make up PGA TOUR fields.

View the Web.com Tour Finals Tracker

Heading to TPC Sawgrass, Steve Wheatcroft holds a $1,583 lead over Bhavik Patel for this week’s 25th card. Ryan Spears and Adam Crawford are another $342 behind Patel.

One other reward that is in play this week is leading money winner on the Finals money list. Not only is No. 1 fully exempt in 2013-14, he will receive an invitation to next May’s PLAYERS Championship. Regular Season No. 1 Michael Putnam has already wrapped up those privileges. With current Finals No. 1 Seung-Yul Noh having returned to South Korea after spending the last nine months in America, Nos. 2-3-4 Andrew Svoboda, Trevor Immelman and John Peterson are the leading candidates to overtake Noh. Svoboda trails Noh by $23,658. Immelman is $30,125 behind him and Peterson $46,125. Second-, third- and fourth-place prize money is $108,000, $68,000 and $48,000, respectively.

Host Dye’s Valley Course at TPC Sawgrass is located at PGA TOUR headquarters in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. It was designed by Pete Dye, Jerry Pate and Bobby Weed and opened for play in 1987. The course will measure 6,864 yards for the Web.com Tour Championship and play to a par of 35-35-70. From 2010-12, it ranked as the fourth, first and fourth toughest course on the Web.com Tour.