The Tour Report

    McIlroy chasing history at The Barclays

    Looking to join exclusive club with fourth consecutive win

  • Rory McIlroy has won two majors and a World Golf Championship in his past three starts. (Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images)Rory McIlroy has won two majors and a World Golf Championship in his past three starts. (Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images)

Rory McIlroy has an opportunity to join an exclusive group at this week's The Barclays. McIlroy is seeking his fourth consecutive PGA TOUR victory. He's won two majors, The Open Championship and PGA Championship, and the World Golf Championships-Bridgestone Invitational in his past three starts. The winning streak vaulted him to No. 1 in the FedExCup and Official World Golf Ranking.

There have been nine different winning streaks of four or more tournaments -- accomplished by four different players -- in PGA TOUR history. Ben Hogan and Tiger Woods each had three winning streaks of four or more events, while Byron Nelson had two such winning streaks, including his record 11-event winning streak in 1945. Jack Burke, Jr. also had a four-event winning streak in 1952. Woods is the only player to have a winning streak of at least four tournaments since Hogan in 1953. Here's a look at the other PGA TOUR winning streaks of four or more events.

PGATOUR.COM will offer exclusive live streaming shot-by-shot coverage Thursday morning of the top FedExCup group of Rory McIlroy, Jimmy Walker and Bubba Watson starting at 8:26 a.m. ET. Click here for more details

MORE ON RORY: Facebook Q&A from Wednesday | Interested in winning, not legacy | Ice bucket challenge with Tiger

WATCH: Comments on FedExCup

11: Byron Nelson (March 8-11, 1945, to August 2-4, 1945)
1945 Miami Four Ball (with Jug McSpaden)
1945 Charlotte Open
1945 Greensboro Open
1945 Durham Open
1945 Atlanta Open
1945 Montreal Open
1945 Philadelphia Inquirer Invitational
1945 Chicago Victory National Open
1945 PGA Championship
1945 Tam O’Shanter Open
1945 Canadian Open
Note: Winnings during streak: $30,250. He won a 12th event, Aug. 11-12, in Spring Lake, N.J., which is not counted as official as its purse was below the PGA TOUR minimum.

7: Tiger Woods (July 20-23, 2006 to January 25-28, 2007)
2006 The Open Championship
2006 Buick Open
2006 PGA Championship
2006 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational
2006 Deutsche Bank Championship
2006 WGC-American Express Championship
2007 Buick Invitational
Note: Winnings during streak: $7,926,480.

6: Ben Hogan (June 9-12, 1948 to August 19-22)
1948 U.S. Open
1948 Inverness Round Robin (Jimmy Demaret)
1948 Motor City Open
1948 Reading Open
1948 Western Open
1948 Denver Open Invitational
Note: Winnings during streak: $11,350.

6: Tiger Woods (August 26-29, 1999 to February 3-6, 2000)
1999 WGC-NEC Invitational
1999 National Car Rental Golf Classic at Walt Disney World Resort
1999 TOUR Championship
1999 WGC-American Express Championship
2000 Mercedes Championships
2000 AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am
Note: Winnings during streak: $4,592,000.

5: Ben Hogan (April 9-12, 1953 to July 7-10, 1953)
1953 Masters Tournament
1953 Pan American
1953 Colonial National Invitational
1953 U.S. Open
1953 The Open Championship

5: Tiger Woods (September 6-9, 2007 to March 13-16, 2008)
2007 BMW Championship
2007 TOUR Championship
2008 Buick Invitational
2008 WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship
2008 Arnold Palmer Invitational

4: Byron Nelson (October 11-14, 1945 to January 10-13, 1946)
1945 Seattle Open
1945 Glen Garden Invitational
1946 Los Angeles Open
1946 San Francisco Open

4: Ben Hogan (August 10, 1946 to September 29, 1946)
1946 Winnipeg Open
1946 PGA Championship
1946 Golden State Open
1946 Dallas Invitational

4:Jack Burke, Jr. (February 14-17, 1952 to March 6-9, 1952)
1952 Texas Open
1952 Houston Open
1952 Baton Rouge Open
1952 St. Petersburg Open
Note: The four victories came in consecutive weeks.

There have been six three-tournament winning streaks since 1990, including McIlroy's winning streak this season: Nick Price (1993); David Duval (1997); Woods (2000); Woods (2001); Vijay Singh (2004); McIlroy (2014).