PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report
  • Qualifying deadlines for PLAYERS come this week

  • Will MacKenzie is on pace to make his first PLAYERS Championship appearance since 2009. (Darren Carroll/Getty Images) Will MacKenzie is on pace to make his first PLAYERS Championship appearance since 2009. (Darren Carroll/Getty Images)

Several qualifying deadlines for THE PLAYERS Championship fall this week. The top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking and the top 10 in the FedExCup standings at week's end earn spots in THE PLAYERS, which will be held May 8-11 at TPC Sawgrass' PLAYERS Stadium Course in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.

THE PLAYERS will use the FedExCup standings following the Zurich Classic of New Orleans to fill any remaining positions in the 144-player field. If qualification ended today, the tournament estimates there would be three spots to be filled by the FedExCup standings. 

The top four players in the FedExCup not yet exempt for THE PLAYERS Championship are No. 14 Will MacKenzie, No. 25 Russell Knox, No. 26 Ryo Ishikawa and No. 42 Brendon Todd. Knox, an alum of nearby Jacksonville University and a Jacksonville Beach resident, is seeking his first PLAYERS start.

Francesco Molinari, No. 52 in the Official World Golf Ranking, is the higest-ranked player outside the OWGR's top 50 who's not yet exempt for THE PLAYERS. He is playing in this week's China Open on the European Tour. Molinari finished ninth in the 2010 PLAYERS.

The winner of this week's Zurich Classic of New Orleans and next week's Wells Fargo Championship also earn exemptions into THE PLAYERS. The following players in the Zurich field are not yet exempt for THE PLAYERS:

Alex Aragon
Alex Prugh
Andrew Loupe
Andrew Svoboda
Ben Curtis
Ben Martin
Benjamin Alvarado
Billy Hurley III
Bobby Gates
Brad Fritsch
Brady Watt
Brice Garnett
Bronson La'Cassie
Bud Cauley
Chad Campbell
Chad Collins
Chris DiMarco
Daniel Chopra
Danny Lee
David Duval
David Toms
Edward Loar
Fabian Gomez
Fred Funk
Greg Owen
Harrison Frazar
Heath Slocum
Hudson Swafford
J.B. Holmes
Jamie Lovemark
Jhonattan Vegas
Jim Herman
Jim Renner
Joe Durant
John Mallinger
Ken Looper
Kevin Foley
Kevin Kisner
Kevin Tway
Lee Williams
Mark Anderson
Mark Calcavecchia
Matt Bettencourt
Max Homa
Miguel Angel Carballo
Mike Weir
Neal Ajubita
Padraig Harrington
Paul Casey
Peter Hanson
Peter Malnati
Rich Beem
Ricky Barnes
Robert Allenby
Robert Streb
Russell Knox
Scott Gardiner
Scott McCarron
Scott Verplank
Sean O'Hair
Seung-Yul Noh
Spencer Levin
Stephen Ames
Steve Marino
Tag Ridings
Thomas Aiken
Thorbjorn Olesen
Tim Herron
Tim Petrovic
Tim Wilkinson
Tommy Gainey
Trevor Immelman
Troy Matteson
Troy Merritt
Tyrone Van Aswegen
Vijay Singh
Wes Roach
Will MacKenzie
Will Wilcox