PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

December 14 2013

4:11 PM

Rocco to return to Torrey Pines


Rocco Mediate will make a return to Torrey Pines, where he famously finished second to Tiger Woods in a playoff at the 2008 U.S. Open. Mediate, the 2013 Champions Tour Rookie of the Year, has been given a sponsor exemption to the 2014 Farmers Insurance Open, which will be held Jan. 23-26 at Torrey Pines Golf Course in La Jolla, Calif.

Mediate, who last played the Farmers Insurance Open in 2012, was one of five sponsor exemptions announced by the tournament. Kevin Tway, Max Homa, Victor Dubuisson and Chris Williams also were given exemptions into the tournament.

Tway, who competed in the 2008 U.S. Open at Torrey Pines as an amateur, is a PGA TOUR rookie after graduating from the Web.com Tour. His father, Bob Tway, won the 1986 Farmers Insurance Open. 

Homa turned pro earlier this year after winning the NCAA individual title at Cal. He's made two PGA TOUR starts as a professional, finishing T-9 at the Frys.com Open and T-30 at the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open. He's competing this week at the Web.com Tour Qualifying Tournament. He's guaranteed of earning at least conditional Web.com Tour status for 2014. He's a Southern California native, having grown up in Valencia.

Dubuisson, of France, is No. 32 in the Official World Golf Ranking after his recent victory at the European Tour's Turkish Airlines Open. 

Williams turned pro in 2013 after winning last year's Mark H. McCormack Medal as the world's No. 1 amateur.

Other players on the tournament's early commitment list include three-time champion Phil Mickelson, Keegan Bradley, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Hunter Mahan, 2012 champ Brandt Snedeker and 2011 champion Bubba Watson. Tiger Woods, a seven-time winner of the Farmers Insurance Open, recently said he will play the tournament, as well. That shouldn't be a surprise; he won the tournament in 2013.