PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

December 10 2013

11:41 PM

Shootout features six major winners

As might be expected, Greg Norman has assembled a strong field for the 25th anniversary of the Franklin Templeton Shootout at Tiburon Golf Club this weekend. Here are some interesting facts about the 24 players assembled for the popular event.

Seven of the players in the field have won in the 2013 calendar year: Jonas Blixt, Jason Dufner, Harris English, Billy Horschel, Dustin Johnson, Matt Kuchar and Kenny Perry. Under the TOUR’s new schedule, English and Johnson are also 2014 champions with victories last month at OHL Classic at Mayakoba and the World Golf Championships-HSBC Championship, respectively.

Major champions:  Six players have won major championship titles during their careers -- Mark Calcavecchia, Jason Dufner, Retief Goosen, Justin Leonard, Greg Norman and Mike Weir.

Total PGA TOUR victories: As a group, the 24 players in the field have accumulated 140 PGA TOUR victories during their respective careers. Greg Norman leads in individual titles with 20. Kenny Perry follows with 14 while Mark Calcavecchia has 13 and both Steve Stricker and Justin Leonard have accumulated 12 each.

First-time Shootout participants:  Six individuals will be competing in their first Shootout: Blixt, Graham DeLaet, English, Retief Goosen, Horschel and Lee Westwood.

New teammates: Ten of the 12 teams in this year’s Shootout will be together for the first time. Only Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker, the 2009 champs who are playing together for the sixth straight year, and defending champions Sean O’Hair and Kenny Perry return.

Margin of victory: Historically, the Franklin Templeton Shootout has always been a close competition. In the past 24 years, there have been four playoffs, eight victories by one stroke and six wins by two strokes. In fact, since the tournament moved to Naples, the margin of victory has only been greater than two strokes twice -- in 2011 when Keegan Bradley and Brendan Steele won by three and when Scott Hoch and Kenny Perry won by four in 2008.