PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

October 4 2013

10:02 AM

First Look: Frys.com Open

By Jeff Shain, PGATOUR.COM Correspondent

• FULL FIELD: Frys.com Open
• COURSE: CordeValle GC, 7,368 yards, par 71. Designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., CordeValle opened in 1999 and repeatedly has ranked among the nation’s top 100 public golf courses. The inland slopes of the Santa Cruz Mountains allowed Jones to create a visually striking layout featuring canyons, hillsides and broad meadows. Land surrounding the course is part of a private preserve with more than 1,000 protected acres.

• FEDEXCUP: Winner receives 500 points.

• CHARITY: The American Institute of Mathematics, founded to expand the knowledge of math though creating an extensive online database and preserving math history through collecting rare and old documents for research. Other beneficiaries include The First Tee of Silicon Valley and Special Olympics of Northern California.

• FIELD WATCH: Defending champion Jonas Blixt and three members of the Presidents Cup Internationals – Angel Cabrera, Hideki Matsuyama and Marc Leishman – headline the field for the 2013-14 season opener. Matsuyama owns the highest world ranking in the field at No. 30. … Former college stars Max Homa (California) and Justin Thomas (Alabama) make their pro debuts on sponsor exemptions. … Thirty-nine of the 50 graduates via the Web.com Tour Finals are heading straight into their new jobs. That includes all four winners of Finals events – Trevor Immelman, Andy Svoboda, Seung-Yul Noh and Chesson Hadley.

• 72-HOLE RECORD: 262, Cameron Beckman (2008 at Grayhawk GC), Kevin Sutherland (2008 at Grayhawk GC), Troy Matteson (2009 at Grayhawk GC), Rickie Fowler (2009 at Grayhawk GC), Jamie Lovemark (2009 at Grayhawk GC). CordeValle record: 267, Bryce Molder (2011), Briny Baird (2011).

• 18-HOLE RECORD: 61, Mark Hensby (2nd round, 2007 at Grayhawk GC), Kevin Stadler (2nd round, 2008 at Grayhawk GC), Troy Matteson (2rd & 3rd rounds, 2009 at Grayhawk GC), Mike Weir (4th round, 2009 at Grayhawk GC). CordeValle record: 62, Will MacKenzie (3rd round, 2011), Jim Renner (3rd round, 2011), Nick O’Hern (1st round, 2012), John Mallinger (2nd round, 2012), Jimmy Walker (4th round, 2012).

• LAST YEAR: Sweden’s Jonas Blixt captured his first PGA TOUR victory, firing a 3-under-par 68 that turned a two-shot deficit into a one-stroke victory. Blixt grabbed a share of the lead with a birdie at the par-5 15th, then took sole possession at No. 17 when his approach shot from the rough came to rest 7½ feet from the flagstick. The former Florida State golfer won in his 19th PGA TOUR start. Tim Petrovic made a strong Sunday charge, but his 64 came up one stroke short of forcing a playoff. He wound up sharing second with Brian Kokrak (68).

• STORYLINES: And how was your offseason? The Frys.com Open launches the PGA TOUR’s new fall-to-late-summer schedule, with FedExCup points available and a chance for early birds to build a portfolio. … CordeValle lifts the curtain on the new class of PGA TOUR rookies, including Web.com Tour Finals top dog John Peterson. … Several players are teeing it up on medical exemptions after missing chunks of last season. Among them: Paul Goydos (wrist), Spencer Levin (thumb) and Jhonattan Vegas (shoulder).

• SHORT CHIPS: For the first time, a Masters berth awaits the Frys.com Open winner. Augusta National’s invitation policy has stipulated berths are reserved only to winners of events awarding full FedExCup points. … Peter Jacobsen, whose seven PGA TOUR victories include the 1995 AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am, will be feted as this year’s Frys.com Open honoree. Jacobsen is the fourth such honoree, joining Robert Trent Jones Jr., Roger Maltbie and Ken Venturi. … The tournament shifts up the highway next year to Napa and Silverado Resort & Spa, where Hall of Famer Johnny Miller is a part owner.

• TELEVISION: Thursday-Sunday, 5-8 p.m. (Golf Channel).

• RADIO: Thursday-Sunday, 2-8 p.m. ET (PGATOUR.COM and SiriusXM PGA TOUR Radio).

Filed under: