PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

September 19 2013

11:14 AM

TOUR Championship by the numbers

By Helen Ross, PGATOUR.COM

ATLANTA -- Four of the five different champions of the FedExCup are in the field this week at East Lake while the fifth is making his Champions Tour debut.

Brandt Snedeker is the first FedExCup champ to qualify for the TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola the following year. He comes in as the No. 10 seed this week.

Tiger Woods, who won the $10 million bonus is 2007 and '09, is the No. 1 seed for the third time in his career. Jim Furyk, the 2010 winner, is the 11th seed this year while Bill Haas, who win in 2011, is seeded 18th.

Meanwhile, Vijay Singh, who was the 2008 FedExCup champion, is playing at the Pacific Links Hawai'i Championship. It's his first Champions Tour event since he turned 50 on Feb. 22.

Here are some other interesting tidbits as the FedExCup Playoffs finale gets under way.

>>> Eight players started the Playoffs ranked Nos. 31-70 and played their way into the TOUR Championship -- Gaaham DeLaet, Nick Watney, Gary Woodland, Charl Schwartzel, Roberto Castro, Sergio Garcia, Brendon de Jonge and Luke Donald. Of the group, Watney was the lowest ranked at No. 63.

>>> Steve Stricker has shot more rounds in the 60s than anyone else during the Playoffs. He has 59, which is nine more than Phil Mickelson and Furyk.

>>> Stricker (No. 6), Mickelson (No. 8) and Hunter Mahan (No. 15) are the only players to advance to the TOUR Championship in each of the first seven years of the FedExCup competition.

>>>> Mickelson is the only player to finish 15th or better in the FedExCup standings each of the first six seasons. This is Mickelson's 17th TOUR Championship, the most in its history while Furyk is one behind, tied with Davis Love III and Singh for second.

>>> Conversely, Henrik Stenson is one of eight players making their TOUR Championship debuts. He's joined by 20-year-old Jordan Spieth, the only true rookie in the field; Graham DeLaet, Billy Horschel, Roberto Castro, Charl Schwartzel, Brendon de Jonge and D.A. Points in playing East Lake for the first time.