PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

August 2 2013

3:30 PM

First Look: PGA Championship

The famed Oak Hill Country Club has been the site of many historic moments. (Martin/Getty Images)

FIELD LIST: PGA Championship | Tee times

By Jeff Shain, PGATOUR.COM contributor

• COURSE: Oak Hill Country Club (East), 7,163 yards, par 70. Built in 1926 on farmland obtained in a swap with the University of Rochester, the Donald Ross creation has a pedigree few other clubs can match. Oak Hill is the only club to host the U.S. Amateur, U.S. Open, PGA Championship, Senior U.S. Open, Senior PGA Championship and Ryder Cup. Lee Trevino nabbed his first professional win when the 1968 U.S. Open came to Oak Hill, and Curtis Strange made history in 1989 as the Open’s first back-to-back winner since 1951. When the PGA Championship made its first venture to Oak Hill in 1980, Jack Nicklaus won by a record seven shots.

• FEDEXCUP: Winner receives 600 points.

• CHARITY: The PGA Foundation has contributed more than $40 million over the past two decades to growth-of-the-game initiatives, ranging from establishment of The First Tee to teaching grants and funding for disabled and special-needs golfers.

• FIELD WATCH: Reigning major champions Phil Mickelson (British Open), Justin Rose (U.S. Open) and Adam Scott (Masters) head traditionally the strongest field of the year, with 99 of the top 100 in the world rankings expected to participate. … The only exception is No. 12 Louis Oosthuizen, plagued by back and neck woes since May. … Openings remain for the winners of this week’s WGC Bridgestone Invitational and Reno-Tahoe Open if not already qualified. … Former U.S. Amateur champion Peter Uihlein and Brooks Koepka, winners in Europe this year, received exemptions into the field. … The lineup also includes the top 20 finishers from June’s PGA Professional National Championship.

• 72-HOLE RECORD: 265, David Toms (1993 at Atlanta AC).

• 18-HOLE RECORD: 63, Bruce Crampton (2nd round, 1975 at Firestone CC), Raymond Floyd (1st round, 1982 at Southern Hills), Gary Player (2nd round, 1984 at Shoal Creek), Michael Bradley (1st round, 1993 at Inverness), Vijay Singh (2nd round, 1993 at Inverness), Brad Faxon (4th round, 1995 at Riviera CC), José María Olazábal (3rd round, 2000 at Valhalla), Mark O’Meara (2nd round, 2001 at Atlanta AC), Thomas Bjorn (3rd round, 2005 at Baltusrol), Tiger Woods (2nd round, 2007 at Southern Hills), Steve Stricker (1st round, 2011 at Atlanta AC).

• LAST YEAR: Separating himself from the field during a 27-hole Sunday, Rory McIlroy claimed his second major crown in record fashion, eight shots clear of his nearest pursuers. McIlroy shared the lead with Vijay Singh when storms brought third-round play to a halt at Kiawah Island, but led by three by the time he finished his 5-under-par 67. The Ulsterman then left no doubt with a final-round 66, punctuated by a 25-foot closing birdie for the final margin – one better than Jack Nicklaus’ seven-shot runaway at the 1980 PGA. At age 23, McIlroy became the fourth-youngest champion in PGA history and youngest since Seve Ballesteros (1980) to win two majors. England’s David Lynn, playing for the first time on U.S. soil, took second after a closing 68.

• STORYLINES: World No. 1 Tiger Woods, a multiple winner in 2013 but not in a major since 2008, gets a final shot of the year to end his longest majorless run. … It’s also the last crack at a major for everyone else this year, with an eight-month wait looming before next year’s Masters. … McIlroy arrives at his title defense still seeking a semblance of last year’s form. He acknowledged being “brain dead” while missing the British Open cut, his third MC in six starts since May.

• SHORT CHIPS: The PGA Championship has seen just three European winners since 1930 – but all have come in the past five years. Padraig Harrington ended the drought in 2008, followed by Martin Kaymer (2010) and McIlroy (2012). … Fourteen of the past 18 major winners have been first-timers, including Scott and Rose this year. The exceptions: Mickelson (twice), McIlroy and Ernie Els. … The PGA of America is allowing fans to vote on the Sunday hole location at Oak Hill’s picturesque par-3 15th. Voting takes place online, with four options to choose from.

• TELEVISION: Thursday-Friday, 1-7 p.m. ET (TNT). Saturday-Sunday, 11 a.m.-2 p.m. (TNT), 2-7 p.m. (CBS).

• RADIO: Thursday-Sunday, noon-7 p.m. (SiriusXM PGA TOUR Radio).

Filed under: