PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

August 5 2013

9:06 AM

How PGA winners fared at Bridgestone

Tiger Woods won the 2007 PGA Championship at Southern Hills in Tulsa, Okla. (Lecka/Getty Images)

By Sean Martin, PGATOUR.COM

The World Golf Championships-Bridgestone Invitational has been played the week prior to the PGA Championship since 2007, allowing players to compete in an elite event the week before the year's final major. Only one player -- Tiger Woods in 2007 -- has won the Bridgestone and PGA in consecutive weeks. Three of the past four Bridgestone winners have finished in the top 10 at the PGA, though. Most PGA winners have preceded their major victory with a finish outside the top 10 at Bridgestone. Here's a look at how Bridgestone champs have fared at the following week's PGA, and how the eventual PGA Championship victor played the previous week:

Year WGC-Bridgestone winner PGA Championship finish
2012 Keegan Bradley T-3
2011 Adam Scott 7th
2010 Hunter Mahan T-39
2009 Tiger Woods 2nd
2008 Vijay Singh MC
2007 Tiger Woods Won
Year PGA Championship winner WGC-Bridgestone finish
2012 Rory McIlroy T-5
2011 Keegan Bradley T-15
2010 Martin Kaymer T-22
2009 Y.E. Yang T-19
2008 Padraig Harrington T-20
2007 Tiger Woods Won