PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

March 12 2013

3:03 PM

Tavistock expands to six clubs

By Jeff Shain, PGATOUR.COM contributor

U.S. Open champion Webb Simpson and incoming Hall of Famer Fred Couples will make their Tavistock Cup debuts later this month, as rosters were finalized Tuesday for an expanded 10th edition that now features six high-profile clubs.

Simpson, Couples and the father-son duo of Jay and Bill Haas will represent Virginia’s Primland Club, which joins the competition this year along with Oklahoma’s Oak Tree National.

Charles Howell III, an Isleworth mainstay in the first nine Tavistock Cups, instead will anchor Oak Tree National’s lineup of Oklahoma State alums. He’ll be joined by Rickie Fowler, Scott Verplank and Champions Tour veteran Bob Tway.

Lake Nona seeks a fifth consecutive title in the made-for-TV competition, to be played March 25-26 at Isleworth. Graeme McDowell, the lone constant in Lake Nona’s previous wins, will be joined by Peter Hanson, Ross Fisher and Henrik Stenson.

Tiger Woods will play a third consecutive year for Bahamas club Albany, alongside European Ryder Cup heroes Ian Poulter and Justin Rose. England’s Queenwood Club rounds out the Tavistock lineup, with Adam Scott and new European Ryder Cup captain Paul McGinley.

With Primland and Oak Tree National expanding the competition to six clubs, rosters were reduced to four players. This also marks the first edition without Ernie Els, who played for Lake Nona and later Albany.

The rosters:

Albany – Tiger Woods, Justin Rose, Ian Poulter, Tim Clark.
Isleworth – Bubba Watson, Bo Van Pelt, Brian Davis, D.A. Points.
Lake Nona – Graeme McDowell, Peter Hanson, Henrik Stenson, Ross Fisher.
Oak Tree – Charles Howell III, Rickie Fowler, Scott Verplank, Bob Tway.
Primland – Webb Simpson, Bill Haas, Jay Haas, Fred Couples.

Filed under: