The Tour Report

March 12 2013

2:52 PM

Featured Groups: Tampa Bay

Tee times are now available for the first two rounds of the Tampa Bay Championship presented by Everbank. Here’s a look at some of the featured groups who will be playing on the Copperhead Course at Innisbrook Resort.


Matt Kuchar–Scott Brown–Michael Thompson: These three certainly have momentum after posting wins in the last three weeks. Brown, who won the Puerto Rico Open presented by seepuertorico.com, and Thompson, who prevailed at The Honda Classic, are first-time winners while Kuchar picked up his fifth at the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship.

Geoff Ogilvy–Jason Day–Adam Scott: G'day mate. This group features a trio of Aussies, each of whom comes to Tampa playing well. Scott tied for third last week at the World Golf Championships-Cadillac Championship, Ogilvy was second at the Honda Classic and Day beat Ian Poulter for third at the world Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Cham[pionship.

Luke Donald-Jim Furyk-K.J. Choi: Donald, who beat Furyk, Sang-moon Bae and Robert Garrigus in a playoff, is joined by two other former champions in this group. Furyk won in 2010 while Choi is the 2006 and '02 winner.

Sergio Garcia-Webb Simpson-Martin Kaymer: Three of the game's biggest international stars can be found in this group. Kaymer, who is from Germany, won the 2010 PGA while Simpson, an American, is the reigning U.S. Open champ. And Garcia, the mercurial Spaniard, has contended in more majors than we can count.

Gary Woodland-Robert Garrigus-Aaron Baddeley: If you like the long ball, this is the group to follow. Woodland, who won in 2010 at Innisbrook and Garrigus, who lost in last year's playoff, are tied for fourth in driving distance. Baddeley is playing for the first time this year in the Florida swing.

Filed under: