PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

March 7 2013

10:30 AM

This and that: WGC-Cadillac

DORAL, Fla. -- The second World Golf Championships event of the year is set to begin at the Cadillac Championship with the first group teeing off at 11:20 a.m. ET.

Here's a closer look at the field and what to watch for:

-- A total of 16 countries are represented by the field (including the United States), with 40 international players. South Africa leads the way with seven players. England follows with six, then Australia (5) and Sweden (4). Next are Spain (3), Scotland (3), Germany (2), Italy (2), Northern Ireland (2) and Belgium, Denmark, Ireland, New Zealand, Thailand and Wales with one each.

-- Thirteen tournament winners from the 2013 season on both the PGA TOUR and the European Tour are in the field. The PGA TOUR winners are: Dustin Johnson (Hyundai Tournament of Champions); Russell Henley (Sony Open in Hawaii); Brian Gay (Humana Challenge); Tiger Woods (Farmers Insurance Open); Phil Mickelson (Waste Management Phoenix Open); John Merrick (Northern Trust Open); Matt Kuchar (Accenture Match Play Championship); and Michael Thompson (The Honda Classic). The European Tour winners are: Scott Jamieson (Nelson Mandela Championship presented by ISPS Handa); Charl Schwartzel (Alfred Dunhill Championship); Louis Oosthuizen (Volvo Champions); Jamie Donaldson (Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship); Chris Wood (Commercial Bank Qatar Masters); Stephen Gallacher (Omega Dubai Desert Classic); and Richard Sterne (Joburg Open);

-- Defending champion Justin Rose is one of six past champions of the Cadillac Championship in the field who have won a combined 10 titles: Tiger Woods (1999, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007); Ernie Els (2004, 2010); Geoff Ogilvy (2008); Phil Mickelson (2009); Nick Watney (2011).

-- There are 16 players making their first-career start at the Cadillac Championship. They are: George Coetzee (South Africa); Donaldson (Wales); Gallacher (Scotland); Robert Garrigus (USA); Mike Hendry (New Zealand); Henley (USA); John Huh (USA); Jamieson (Scotland); David Lynn (England); Matteo Manassero (Italy); Merrick (USA); Thorbjorn Olesen (Denmark); Scott Piercy (USA); Marcel Siem (Germany); Thompson (USA) and Wood (England).  For Hendry, Huh, Jamieson, Merrick and Thompson, it is their first World Golf Championships start.

-- Brandt Snedeker, 2012 FedExCup champion, is the only player from the top 50 who is not in the field. Snedeker was forced to withdraw due to continued recovery from sore ribs suffered after playing in five of the first six events of the PGA TOUR season. The only other qualified players who did not enter the field are Peter Senior and Toru Taniguchi.