PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

February 24 2013

2:39 PM

Two Americans in finals rare of late

MARANA, Ariz. -- The championship match between Matt Kuchar and Hunter Mahan marks the seventh time in the 15-year history of the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship that both finalists are American.

That last time that happened, though, was in 2008 when Tiger Woods beat Stewart Cink 8 and 7 in 36 holes. In fact, seven of the last eight finalists prior to this year were international players -- the only exception was last year's champion, Mahan.

Six different winners have been American -- Tiger Woods, though, won back-to-back in 2003 and '04, as well as in 2008. Jeff Maggert, Steve Stricker, Kevin Sutherland and David Toms are the other Americans to claim the prize.

The international winners are Northern Ireland's Darren Clarke, Australia's Geoff Ogilvy (2006 and '09), Henrik Stenson of Sweden and Ian Poulter and Luke Donald of England.