PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

February 4 2013

7:45 AM

With this victory: Phil Mickelson

By PGATOUR staff

With his victory at the 2013 Waste Management Phoenix Open, Phil Mickelson ...

-- Earns 41st career PGA TOUR victory at the age of 42 years, 7 months and 18 days in his 468th TOUR event, 450th as a professional. Third victory since turning 40 in 2010.

-- Earns 500 FedExCup points and moves to No. 3 in the standings with 546 points. Brandt Snedeker leads with 782.


-- Records third win (1996, 2005, 2013) in 24 starts, tying Mark Calcavecchia (posted third win in 15th start), Gene Littler (13th start) and Arnold Palmer (eighth start) for most wins at event. Has 10 top-10 finishes in 24 starts at the event.Equals Mark Calcavecchia’s 72-hole tournament record of 28-under 256, falling two shy of the all-time PGA TOUR record for 72-hole winning score (Tommy Armour, 26-under 254, 2003 Valero Texas Open).Since 1970, is just the second wire-to-wire winner of the event (Steve Jones/1997).

-- Opening-round 60 equaled Steve Stricker (2010 John Deere Classic) for lowest opening-round score by a winner in PGA TOUR history.

-- Becomes the fourth oldest winner of the event, trailing only Kenny Perry (48 years, 3 months, 21 days), Julius Boros (46 years, 11 months, 9 days) and Miller Barber (46 years, 10 months, 2 days).

-- Played the par-3s in 9-under this week, the best mark since the tournament moved to TPC Scottsdale in 1987. The previous record was 7-under, set by Chris DiMarco (2003) and Scott Hoch (1989).

-- With six wins, ties Johnny Miller for the most wins in the state of Arizona:

     -- Mickelson: 1996, 2005, 2013 Waste Management Phoenix Open, 1991, 1995, 1996 Nortel Open
     -- Miller: 1974, 1975 Waste Management Phoenix Open, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1981 Tucson Open


-- Has at least one victory each of the last 10 seasons on TOUR, which is the longest active streak (Dustin Johnson is second in the list with wins in his last six seasons).

-- Most years with at least one win on the PGA TOUR: Sam Snead (24), Jack Nicklaus (21), Phil Mickelson (20, which includes his win as an amateur in 1991).

-- Records third-career wire-to-wire victory: 2006 BellSouth Classic, 2005 AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am.

-- With his 41st career PGA TOUR victory, remains in ninth all-time in wins, moving within four of tying Walter Hagen for eighth with 45 victories.


Sam Snead
Tiger Woods
Jack Nicklaus
Ben Hogan
Arnold Palmer
Byron Nelson
Billy Casper
Walter Hagan
Phil Mickelson
Cary Middlecoff 39
  Tom Watson

-- Wins for the 22nd time in 33 attempts when holding the 54-hole lead (not counting 54-hole events), including the 2004 Humana Challenge (where he led by two after 54 holes and shared the lead after 72).

-- Has won all five events in which he posted his five-lowest scores on the PGA TOUR:

    60 (11-under) – 2013 Waste Management Phoenix Open (first round, went on to win)
    60 (11-under) – 2005 Waste Management Phoenix Open (second round, went on to win)
    61 (9-under) – 2001 Travelers Championship (third round, went on to win)
    62 (10-under) – 2005 AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am (first round, went on to win)
    62 (9-under) – 2009 Northern Trust Open (third round, went on to win)

-- Joined Zach Johnson as the only players in PGA TOUR history with multiple rounds of 60 or better, but is the only to perform the feat on the same course (60, 2005 & 2013 Waste Management Phoenix Open).

-- After carding three 2s on his scorecard 25 times during his career, Thursday’s 60 marked the first time he has posted four 2s in a round. He birdied all four par-3s, including Nos. 4, 7, 12 and 16.

-- Victory is first top 10 of the season in third start. Also recorded first season win at 2005 Phoenix Open. Went on to win the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am, BellSouth Classic and the PGA Championship that season.