PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

January 15 2013

3:15 PM

McIlroy, Westwood commit to Honda

By Brian Wacker, PGATOUR.COM

Rory McIlroy, who reached No. 1 in the world last year with his victory at The Honda Classic, will be back to defend his title, committing to the tournament on Tuesday.

Lee Westwood also committed, joining Graeme McDowell, Stuart Appleby, Robert Garrigus, Lee Janzen, Justin Leonard, Rory Sabbatini, and Jesper Parnevik, among others. The deadline for players to enter is 5 p.m. ET on Feb. 22.

Last year, McIlroy held off a final-round charge from Tiger Woods, who shot 62, to win by two.

McIlroy went on to win four more times following his victory at PGA National, including at the PGA Championship, before taking home Player of the Year honors on the PGA TOUR and European Tour and finishing the year No. 1 in the Official World Golf Rankings.