PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

June 3 2012

12:54 PM

Floyd to be honored at 2013 Memorial

DUBLIN, Ohio -- Raymond Floyd will be honored at the 2013 Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide Insurance.

Floyd joins an eclectic list of Memorial Tournament honorees that includes this year’s inductee, Tom Watson, as well as Arnold Palmer, Gary Player, Judy Bell, Andy North, Presidents George H.W. Bush and Gerald Ford, Tony Jacklin and Sean Connery, among others.

Floyd won three of the four major championships, and a total of four -- missing out only on the British Open. The closest he came to adding the Claret Jug to his trophy case was in 1978 where he finished second to Jack Nicklaus. Floyd’s final major championship title came in 1986 when he beat Lanny Wadkins and Chip Beck at Shinnecock Hills – at the age of 44.

Floyd, who was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 1989, won 22 PGA TOUR titles -- in four different decades -- and 14 more times on the Champions Tour. In 1992 he became the first player to win on both Tours.