PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

April 17 2012

1:00 PM

Phil at HP Nelson for first time since '07

Two of the three active players from the top 15 in total PGA TOUR wins will be playing in Las Colinas next month, as Phil Mickelson and Vijay Singh have committed to compete in the 2012 HP Byron Nelson Championship.

Live Report Image

"Having Phil and Vijay here to help us celebrate the 100th anniversary of Byron's birth makes it even more special," 2012 Tournament Chairman Robert Smith said.  "Phil and Byron had such a special relationship, and both of these champions have had a tremendous influence on the game."

This will be the fourteenth year that Phil has played the Nelson, with his last appearance in 2007. Mickelson is currently third on the TOUR Money List, and is coming off a third place finish at the Masters Tournament. Phil is a former champion at the Nelson, winning in 1996 by two strokes.

Singh returns to TPC Four Seasons for the 12th time in his career. He has placed in the top-20 at the Nelson five times, including his 2004 victory. Vijay has started the year on a high note, posting three top-25 finishes.

Keegan Bradley, 2011 HP Byron Nelson Championship winner and currently No. 13 on the money list, will return to defend his title. After his first career victory at the Nelson, Keegan went on to win the PGA Championship in a three-hole playoff and post two other top-10 finishes. He was voted 2011 PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year.

Including Mickelson and Bradley, The HPBNC will also play host to seven of the top 25 on the money list, including No. 6 Carl Pettersson, No. 8 Johnson Wagner, No. 12 Brandt Snedeker, No. 21 John Huh and No. 25 Matt Kuchar. Kuchar is coming off a tie for third at the Masters and Pettersson won this past weekend at the RBC Heritage.

The he field will be final Friday, May 18 at 5 p.m. ET.

The 2012 HP Byron Nelson Championship will be played May 14-20 at the TPC Four Seasons Resort Las Colinas in Irving.