PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

April 5 2012

10:27 AM

Can Mahan make it two-in-row?

By Helen Ross, PGATOUR.COM

AUGUSTA, Ga. -- Hunter Mahan became the first two-time winner of the 2012 season on Sunday when he captured the title at the Shell Houston Open on Sunday.

Mahan, who tees off in Thursday's final group at 1:53 p.m. ET with Phil Mickelson and Peter Hanson, is bidding for his first major championship this week at the Masters. Since 1934, though, only 10 players have been able to successfully ride the momentum of a victory the week before to a win in one of golf's four crown jewels.

Five of those have come at Augusta National; most recently, Phil Mickelson, who won the 2006 BellSouth Classic prior to donning the Green Jacket for the  second time. Here's the complete list.


Year Player Events
2007 Tiger Woods World Golf Championships-Bridgestone Invitational, PGA Championship
2006 Phil Mickelson BellSouth Classic, Masters
1988 Sandy Lyle Greater Greensboro Open, Masters
1971 Lee Trevino Canadian Open, British Open
1959 Art Wall Azalea Open, Masters
1949 Sam Snead Greater Greensboro Open, Masters
1946 Ben Hogan Winnipeg Open, PGA Championship
1945 Byron Nelson Chicago Victory Open, PGA Championship
1939 Ralph Guldahl Greater Greensboro Open, Masters
1939 Henry Picard Scranton Open, PGA Championship