PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

January 9 2012

10:16 PM

With this victory: Steve Stricker

Steve Stricker kicked off the 2012 season at the Hyundai Tournament of Champions by notching his 12th career victory. With this victory, Stricker: • Collects 500 FedExCup points to take the lead after one week of play • Extends his fully-exempt status through the 2017 season • Becomes the second-consecutive American winner of the event (Jonathan Byrd/2011). Prior to 2011, the Hyundai produced nine consecutive international winners. • Becomes the seventh winner to post all four rounds in the 60s since the event moved to the Plantation Course in 1999, joining David Duval (1999), Jim Furyk (2001), Ernie Els (2003), Geoff Ogilvy (2009 & 2010) and Jonathan Byrd (2011). • Matches Dustin Johnson for the second-longest active win streak on TOUR, with victories in his last four seasons: Phil Mickelson (8 seasons; 2004-11), Dustin Johnson (4 seasons; 2008-11), Stricker (4 seasons (2009-12). • Moves one step closer to a fourth consecutive multiple-win season (he’s the only TOUR player with multiple wins in each of the last three years). • Earns his ninth victory since turning 40. • Extends his TOUR-leading cuts-made streak to 43 consecutive events. • Records the 87th top-10 finish and 165th top-25 finish of his career. This victory is Stricker’s 12th in 398 career starts on the PGA TOUR. Here’s a list of all of Stricker’s TOUR victories: 1996 Kemper Open, Motorola Western Open 2001 World Golf Championships -- Accenture Match Play Championship 2007 The Barclays 2009 Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial, John Deere Classic, Deutsche Bank Championship 2010 Northern Trust Open, John Deere Classic 2011 the Memorial Tournament, John Deere Classic 2012 Hyundai Tournament of Champions