PGATour logo icon
Experience the PGA TOUR like never before on Windows 10 with the official PGA TOUR App!
Get the app

It appears your browser may be outdated. For the best website experience, we recommend updating your browser.   learn more

Photo Gallery

Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
The Tour Report

August 5 2011

3:32 PM

PGA Championship pairings released

Four-time PGA Championship winner Tiger Woods will be paired with a couple of other past PGA winners, Davis Love III and Padraig Harrington, in the first two rounds of next week’s PGA Championship at the Atlanta Athletic Club.

The PGA of America released its pairings Friday for the last major of the year. For more on this year’s PGA Championship, click here for the official website , which has a link to the tee times .

Woods, 1997 PGA winner Love and 2008 PGA winner Harrington will tee off at 8:35 a.m. ET off the 10th hole on Thursday’s first round. That group will tee off at 1:45 p.m. ET off the first tee in Friday’s second round.

The pairings for the first two rounds also feature the traditional grouping of the winners of the first three major golf championships of the year; defending PGA Champion Martin Kaymer of Germany in a group that includes the last two PGA Champions; and the pairing of the top two finishers in the 2001 PGA Championship that was contested at the Atlanta Athletic Club.

South African Charl Schwartzel, the 2011 Masters champion, will be joined by Northern Irishmen Rory McIlroy, the 2011 U.S. Open champion, and Darren Clarke, the 2011 British Open champion. The trio tees off on Thursday at 1:45 p.m. on the first tee and Friday at 8:35 a.m. on the 10th tee.

Kaymer, who captured the 2010 PGA Championship at Whistling Straits in Kohler, Wis., is paired with 2009 PGA champion Y.E. Yang of South Korea and another PGA champion, Shaun Micheel, who won the title in 2003. They start on Thursday at 1:15 p.m. on the first tee and are off Friday at 8:05 a.m. on the 10th tee.

David Toms, who held off Phil Mickelson to win the PGA Championship in 2001 at the Atlanta Athletic Club, is paired with Mickelson (the 2005 PGA Champion) and two-time PGA Champion Vijay Singh of Fiji. They start  Thursday at 8:15 a.m. on the 10th tee and Friday at 1:25 p.m. on the first tee.

Two-time PGA champion Larry Nelson of Marietta, Ga., who won the 1981 Championship at the Atlanta Athletic Club and is this year's recipient of the PGA Distinguished Service Award, is joined by PGA champions Steve Elkington (1995) and Rich Beem (2002). They tee off on Thursday at 1:30 p.m. on the 10th tee and Friday at 8:20 a.m. on the first tee.

Other pairings of interest for the first two rounds include: FedExCup leader Nick Watney with world No. 1 Luke Donald of England with Alvaro Quiros of Spain; teen sensations Matteo Manassero of Italy (18) and Ryo Ishikawa of Japan (19) with Adam Scott of Australia; and Americans Dustin Johnson, Rickie Fowler with Spain's Sergio Garcia.

Filed under: