Els among qualifiers as Hyundai tickets go on sale

August 02, 2012
PGA TOUR staff

Kapalua, Maui, HI -- Ernie Els, winner of the 2003 Hyundai Tournament of Champions, defeated Adam Scott at the British Open for his fourth major championship. With the victory, the World Golf Hall of Fame member joins a strong list of golfers qualified for next year's Hyundai Tournament of Champions. The 2013 season-opening winners-only event will again be held at the Plantation Course at Kapalua Resort on Jan. 3-7, 2013, as tickets to the event are now on sale with some new options available to fans.


Els' second career win at the British Open came after shooting a 32 on the back nine which included a clutch birdie on the 18th hole. Els entered the final round trailing Scott, his good friend, by six strokes. Scott bogeyed the final four holes to lose by one stroke despite having a comfortable lead throughout most of the day. Els has teed it up nine previous times at the Hyundai Tournament of Champions with a runner-up and two third-place finishes to go along with his 2003 victory.

"Ernie Els has long been one of the tournament's favorite players," said Nancy Cross, executive director, Hyundai Tournament of Champions. "We send our official congratulation to Ernie on his victory at the British Open and we hope to see him here in Maui to start the 2013 season. The field is already shaping up to be a unique and exciting group of the game's great young players as well as established veteran champions."

With the tournament starting on a Friday again in 2013, fans will be able to attend Thursday's final practice round for free. Fans can purchase good-any-single-day ticket for competition rounds for $15 and a weekly ticket for $40. New for 2013, daily clubhouse tickets will be sold for $30 with a weekly clubhouse option at $75. Youth fans 18 years old and under can attend the event for free with a ticketed adult. Tickets are on sale now, and there are limited Pro-Am spots available. For more info, go to www.pgatour.com/hyundai or call 808-665-9160.

Els joins a list of some of golf's biggest names who have won on the PGA TOUR in 2012, including:

Ben Curtis Bill Haas Brandt Snedeker Bubba Watson Carl Pettersson Dustin Johnson Ernie Els George McNeill Hunter Mahan Jason Dufner John Huh Johnson Wagner Justin Rose Kyle Stanley Luke Donald Marc Leishman Mark Wilson Matt Kuchar Phil Mickelson Rickie Fowler Rory McIlroy Scott Piercy Scott Stallings Steve Stricker Ted Potter Jr. Tiger Woods Webb Simpson Zach Johnson