Appleby named 2010 TOUR Comeback Player of the Year

Halleran/Getty Images
Appleby shot 59 in his final round at The Greenbrier for his ninth career win.
December 13, 2010
PGA TOUR staff

PLAYERS TO WATCH IN 2011: No. 57 Stuart Appleby | Top 100 Players to Watch

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. -- One year after finishing outside the top 125 for the first time since his rookie season in 1996, Australia's Stuart Appleby was honored as the 2010 PGA TOUR Comeback Player of the Year. Appleby earned the award via a vote by his fellow competitors following a season that included a historic final-round 59 en route to victory at The Greenbrier Classic.

"Congratulations to Stuart Appleby for being voted the PGA TOUR Comeback Player of the year by his peers," said PGA TOUR Commissioner Tim Finchem. "Stuart showed great perseverance in returning to the winner's circle at The Greenbrier Classic in a historic manner."

Appleby was selected for PGA TOUR Comeback Player of the Year over Arjun Atwal and Rocco Mediate.

Stuart Appleby -- PGA TOUR Comeback Player of the Year

Appleby, who has represented the International Team at The Presidents Cup on five occasions, struggled in 2009, as he was not eligible for the PGA TOUR Playoffs for the FedExCup and finished 137th on the money list after just one top-10 finish in 25 starts.

Appleby utilized a one-time, top 25 career money exemption in 2010 and worked overtime to regain his form. Between May and August, he played 13 consecutive weeks, with The Greenbrier Classic victory inside that 13-week stretch. The win was his ninth career title, and his final-round 59 was the fifth in PGA TOUR history and just the second-ever posted during a final round. On the season, Appleby totaled three top 10s in 31 starts, finished 38th on the money list and played his way into the first three Playoff events.

Appleby also had international success in 2010, winning the JBWereMasters in Australia in November.

With the The Presidents Cup 2011 being held in his homeland of Australia, Appleby is currently 23rd in the International Team standings (the top 10 in the standings as of Sept. 19, 2011, automatically make the team, with two additional players selected by International Team Captain Greg Norman).