Furyk named PGA TOUR's Player of the Year

Dunn/Getty Images
Jim Furyk won three times on TOUR this year and captured his first FedExCup trophy.
December 04, 2010
Staff and wire reports

THOUSAND OAKS, Calif. -- Jim Furyk, who won the FedExCup on the strength of three PGA TOUR victories, was named the 2010 PGA TOUR Player of the Year on a vote by his fellow competitors, PGA TOUR Commissioner Tim Finchem announced Saturday at the Chevron World Challenge.

Furyk, 40, earns his first-ever Player of the Year award after winning the Transitions Championship, the Verizon Heritage and the season-ending TOUR Championship presented by Coca-Cola. His three victories were more than any other player on TOUR and he totaled seven top-10s in 21 starts.

Furyk also finished second on the money list with $4,809,622 and fifth in adjusted scoring average at 69.83.

"The year just keeps getting better is all I can say," Furyk said. "I'm not sure I want 2010 to end at this point."

Furyk, who will receive the Jack Nicklaus Trophy as Player of the Year, beat out Ernie Els, Dustin Johnson, Matt Kuchar and Phil Mickelson.

"Jim is a tremendous player, a consummate professional and with three wins and the FedExCup title, his season was certainly worthy of the award," Finchem said.

Furyk had gone more than two years without winning until his victory in the Transitions Championship in March, then won again a month later at Hilton Head. He ended the year with a par save from the bunker on the final hole at East Lake to not only win the Tour Championship, but the FedEx Cup.

He previously won player of the year from the PGA of America, an award based on points. This was a vote of PGA TOUR players.

"This one is very meaningful ... having all my peers and colleagues -- basically the guys I play against week in and week out -- and to have them vote for me as player of the year is what's special," Furyk said.

Rickie Fowler was named PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year and Jamie Lovemark was named Nationwide Tour Player of the Year.