Round 4 Notebook: BMW Championship

September 12, 2010
PGA TOUR staff

Weather: Sunny with a high of 79 degrees. W/SW winds 10-20 mph.

• Who's in the field next week?? Camilo Villegas -- 33 to 25 Kevin Na -- 41 to 20 K.J. Choi -- 52 to 23 Ryan Moore -- 58 to 26

Who's out?? J.B. Holmes -- 24 to 34 Rickie Fowler -- 25 to 32 Bill Haas -- 28 to 31 Rory McIlroy -- 29 to 36

Dustin Johnson, No. 2 in FedExCup points • Sunday marked the fifth time in 2010 that Dustin Johnson played in the final grouping in the final round:

Tournament Finish Final Round
AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am 1 74
U.S. Open T8 72
PGA Championship T5 73
The Barclays T9 72
BMW Championship 1 69

With Johnson's second victory of the season, it marked the 15th victory by a player in his 20s in 2010: Bill Haas, Dustin Johnson (2), Hunter Mahan (2), Camilo Villegas, Derek Lamely, Anthony Kim, Rory McIlroy, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Justin Rose (2), Louis Oosthuizen, Martin Kaymer.

With his fourth career victory, Johnson has the most victories among players in their 20s -- those in their 20s with three wins include Sean O'Hair, Camilo Villegas, Hunter Mahan and Anthony Kim.

Matt Kuchar, No. 1 in FedExCup points • With his 11th top-10 (T3) of the 2010 season at the BMW Championship, Kuchar remains in the top spot in the FedExCup standings. Entering the 2010 campaign, the Georgia Tech graduate had totaled 20 top-10s in 195 professional starts.

Phil Mickelson, No. 10 in FedExCup points • T8 finish at BMW Championship was best finish since T9 at the U.S. Open. The top-10 was also Mickelson's career best at the BMW Championship (T17 in 2008).

Tiger Woods, No. 42 in FedExCup points • Moved from No. 51 to 42nd in FedExCup standings, unable to advance to THE TOUR Championship.

In 10 career Playoff starts, Woods has six top-10s and three wins. His best finish in 2010 in The Playoffs was T11 at last week's Deutsche Bank Championship.

T15 was lowest finish at the BMW Championship since T20 in 2001.

Unless Woods plays and wins a Fall Series event or the WGC-HSBC Champions event, he will not post a victory on the PGA TOUR for first time in PGA TOUR career (14 years) dating back to 1996. Note -- a victory at HSBC Champions would come as an unofficial PGA TOUR victory.

Miscellaneous Notes • With his T8 finish, Steve Stricker now has three top-10s in four starts at the BMW Championship since the inceptions of The Playoffs. Camilo Villegas (T11) is the only player to have posted top-10s in all three previous BMW Championships since the inception of The PGA TOUR Playoffs for the FedExCup.

One player -- Kevin Streelman (No. 102) started The Playoffs outside the top 100 but played his way into THE TOUR Championship at No. 29.

Ben Crane, sitting 70th after opening 76-77, fought back with rounds of 67-69 on the weekend to finish T45 and comfortably inside the FedExCup top 30 at 22.

Scoring Averages at the par-71 Cog Hill G&CC:

Front 9 Back 9 Total Cumulative
Thursday 36.086 35.543 71.629 ---
Friday 35.586 36.671 72.257 71.943
Saturday 35.157 36.057 71.214 71.700
Sunday 35.529 36.771 72.300 71.850

Stricker (67, R3), Brian Gay (68, R1) and Camilo Villegas (70, Rd 4) posted the only bogey-free rounds this week.

The top 5 players in the FedExCup standings (Matt Kuchar, Dustin Johnson, Charley Hoffman, Steve Stricker, Paul Casey) control their own destiny at THE TOUR Championship -- if they win THE TOUR Championship they will win the FedExCup.

FedExCup/THE TOUR Championship Notes • Steve Stricker posted his 10thtop-10 in 15 career Playoff events with his T8 finish at the BMW Championship.

Three players have finished inside the top 15 in the FedExCup standings in the first three seasons:

Player 2007 2008 2009 2010 (current standing)
Phil Mickelson 3rd 7th 2nd 10
Steve Stricker 2nd 14th 3rd 4
Jim Furyk 11th 5th 4th 11

Stricker, Mickelson, Ernie Els, Jim Furyk and Hunter Mahan are the only players to reach Atlanta in all four years of the PGA TOUR Playoffs for the FedExCup. Stewart Cink's streak of three consecutive seasons at THE TOUR Championship was snapped.

First-timers at THE TOUR Championship include: Matt Kuchar, Charley Hoffman, Paul Casey, Martin Laird, Ryan Palmer, Jeff Overton, Ryan Moore, Kevin Streelman, Bo Van Pelt.

Rookies at THE TOUR Championship
1990 Robert Gamez 1999 Carlos Franco, Notah Begay II
1991 John Daly 2004 Todd Hamilton, Zach Johnson
1993 Vijay Singh 2005 Sean O'Hair
1994 Ernie Els 2006 Trevor Immelman
1995 David Duval, Woody Austin 2007 Brandt Snedeker
1996 Tiger Woods 2008 Andres Romero
1997 Stewart Cink 2009 Marc Leishman

Among rookies at the BMW Championship, neither Rickie Fowler (No. 25 to No. 32) nor Rory McIlroy (No. 29 to 36) were able to advance to THE TOUR Championship. Fowler hit his approach into the hazard on the 72nd hole, and his subsequent bogey cost him an opportunity to advance to Atlanta.