Norman honored with GWAA's Bartlett Award

February 22, 2008
PGA TOUR staff

HOUSTON -- Global golfer and global philanthropist Greg Norman has been honored with the Golf Writers Association of America's Charlie Bartlett Award. His commitment to charity has spanned three decades with such diverse causes as children's cancer research, relief to victims and families of Hurricane Katrina, the Tsunami and 9-11, and ecosystem oceanic research. The award, named for the first secretary of the GWAA, is given to a professional golfer for his/her unselfish contributions to the betterment of society. Norman will be honored at the GWAA Annual Awards Dinner April 9 in Augusta, Ga.

The Hall of Famer, known as much for his entrepreneurial spirit in the boardroom as his swaggering style on the golf course, has quietly aided charitable efforts including helping raise more than $10 million for charities, including the CureSearch National Childhood Cancer Foundation and Ronald McDonald House.

Norman has also lent his helicopter to Katrina Relief efforts and teamed with former Presidents Bill Clinton and George H.W. Bush to benefit Tsunami Relief. Norman's ML Shootout supports several charities including CureSearch and Ronald McDonald House, while the Three Friends: One Goal event with Clinton and Bush raised more than $2 million. Norman participated in Hope Takes Flight, which helped raise $4 million for the University of Pittsburgh's Hillman Cancer Center.

He was also involved in the Franklin Templeton Fiduciary Trust, benefiting the families of 9/11 victims; the Chris Evert Tennis Classic; Living Oceans Foundation; Environmental Institute for Golf and his own Greg Norman Junior Golf Foundation. In 1988, Norman dedicated his win at the MCI Heritage to Jamie Hutton, who was battling leukemia.

The 53-year-old, who won two British Opens and spent 331 weeks at No. 1 in the World Ranking, serves as chairman and CEO of the diverse multinational Great White Shark Enterprises with divisions including event management, turfgrasses, wine, apparel, residential development and golf course design. He is also chairman of MacGregor Golf.

Former Bartlett winners include Tiger Woods, the Louisiana trio of Hal Sutton, David Toms and Kelly Gibson, Val Skinner, Betsy King, Tom Watson, Payne Stewart, Tom Lehman, Arnold Palmer, Kenny Perry, Brad Faxon and Billy Andrade, Patty Berg and Andy North.

The GWAA will also honor Players of Year Woods, Lorena Ochoa and Jay Haas, Ben Hogan Award winner Denis Watson, Jim Murray/ASAP Award winner Gary Player and Louise Suggs, winner of the William D. Richardson Award, at the dinner.

The 960-member professional organization takes an active role in protecting the interests of all golf journalists, works closely with all of golf's major governing bodies and the World Golf Hall of Fame and facilitates a scholarship/internship program which is currently helping students at 17 major U.S. universities.