Did you know you can save your preferences across all your digital devices and platforms simply by creating a profile? Would you like to get started?
Not right now
No, never ask again
  • 2018: The PGA TOUR Latinoamérica Year in Numbers

  • In This Article

  • The following is a look at the numbers that defined the 2018 season on PGA TOUR Latinoamérica.


    In 2018, PGA TOUR Latinoamérica played 17 official events in 11 countries. The host countries were Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Jamaica, Mexico, Peru, and the United States.

    Number of official events: 17
    Number of host countries: 11
    Countries that hosted multiple events: Argentina (four), Mexico (three), Brazil (two)


    The Tour saw 15 different winners from six different countries in 2018. Eleven of those players were first-time PGA TOUR Latinoamérica champions. Nicolás Echavarría and Michael Buttacavoli were the only multiple winners among them, with two wins each. The following are a few facts and figures about the 2018 champions:

    Winners by country: United States (7), Argentina (3), Colombia (3), Chile (2), Mexico (1), Finland (1)
    Multiple winners: Nicolás Echavarría (2), Michael Buttacavoli (2).
    Wire-to-wire winners: Nicolás Echavarría (Sao Paulo Golf Club Championship), Michael Buttacavoli (Shell Championship)
    Consecutive wins: None
    Largest margin of victory: Andrés Gallegos, 6 strokes at Puerto Plata DR Open
    Winners’ ages 25 or younger: seven (7)
    Winners in their 20s: thirteen (13)
    Winners in their 30s: four (4)
    Youngest champion: Isidro Benítez, 19 years, 9 months, 21 days, at the VISA Open de Argentina
    Oldest champion: Clodomiro Carranza, 36 years, 6 months, 16 days, at the Neuquén Argentina Classic


    Spicing up the competition, this year Tour players also battled to earn $10,000-dollar bonuses while playing the Zurich Argentina Swing and the Bupa Challenge events.

    Coming back for the fourth consecutive year and already signed to continue until 2020, the Zurich Argentina Swing covered the four Tour events played in Argentina. Meanwhile, the Bupa Challenge showcased five events in Guatemala, Ecuador, the Dominican Republic and Brazil.

    Zurich Argentina Swing winner: Clodomiro Carranza
    Bupa Challenge winner: Ben Polland


    Order of Merit: Harry Higgs ($101,336)
    Scoring average: Alexandre Rocha (68.65)
    Top-10 finishes: Eric Steger (eight)
    Sub-par rounds: Marcelo Rozo (47)
    Rounds in the 60s: Eric Steger (34)
    Consecutive cuts made: Tyson Alexander (15)
    Total birdies: Tyson Alexander (266)
    Total eagles: Tyson Alexander (15)
    Low 18: Drew Nesbitt (59, 12-under) R2 JHSF Aberto do Brasil
    Low 72: Andrés Gallegos at the Puerto Plata DR Open (262, 22-under)
    Best birdie streak: Maxi Godoy (7) during R1 of the BMW Jamaica Classic
    Most consecutive rounds par or better: Nicolás Echavarría, Tyson Alexander (17)
    Holes in One: Ten different players recorded one each (Peyton White, Ryan Ruffels, Chris Killmer, Santiago Bauni, Tee-k Kelly, Drew Nesbitt, Raúl Cortés, Tyson Alexander, Jonathan Diiani and Evan Harmeling)
    Double Eagles: David Faraudo recorded the only one during R1 Guatemala Stella Artois Open


    Hosting the Quito Open presentado por Diners Club, the Quito Tenis y Golf Club in Quito, Ecuador was the toughest course in 2018. The following are the top-five toughest courses:

    1. Quito Tenis y GC (Quito, Ecuador) par-71 (+1.907 avg. over par)
    2. La Loma Golf (San Luis Potosí, Mexico) par-72 (+1.171)
    3. Córdoba Golf Club (Córdoba, Argentina) par-71 (+1.070)
    4. Pilará Golf Club (Pilar, Argentina) par-72 (+0.960)
    5. Club de Golf Mapocho (Santiago, Chile) par-71 (+0.600)