Mexico Open joins Nationwide Tour schedule in 2008

October 05, 2007
PGA TOUR staff

MORELIA, Mexico -- The PGA TOUR's Nationwide Tour and the Mexican Golf Federation announced today that Mexico's premier golf tournament, the Mexico Open presented by Corona, will be added to the Nationwide Tour schedule in 2008.


It will be the 50th playing of the Open.

The Jack Nicklaus-designed Tres Marias Golf Club in Morelia, Mexico will host the tournament, Jan. 28 -- Feb. 3. It will be a 132-player field with 16 of the spots reserved for exemptions as determined by the Federation and four spots for members of the Tour de Las Americas.

The purse will be $625,000.

"As one of golf's oldest events, this sanctioning arrangement between the Nationwide Tour and the Mexico Open presented by Corona is exciting news for both of us," said Bill Calfee, president of the Nationwide Tour. "The Mexico Open has a wonderful history with World Golf Hall of Fame members Lee Trevino and Ben Crenshaw just two of the many players with PGA TOUR roots who have won the event. Golf is growing in popularity and stature in Mexico and next year's celebration of the 50th Mexico Open presented by Corona will enhance that growth as well as the tournament and the Nationwide Tour."

The Mexico Open presented by Corona will be the second event of the 2008 Nationwide Tour season, following the Movistar Panama Championship in Panama City, Panama.

Golf Channel will air a 60-minute post-produced highlights show in the United States.

The Mexico Open was first played in 1944 and won the first four years by Al Espinosa, the 1929 U.S. Open playoff runner-up to Bobby Jones at Winged Foot.

Over the years, many of golf's most prominent players and major champions have played in the Mexico Open, including World Golf Hall of Fame members Sam Snead, Jimmy Demaret, Bobby Locke (1952 winner), Roberto De Vicenzo (1951, '53 and '55 winner), Billy Casper (1977 winner), Raymond Floyd, Seve Ballesteros, Johnny Miller, Lee Trevino (1973 and '75 winner), Ben Crenshaw (1981 winner) and Nick Price. Recent winners Chris Perry (1994), Stewart Cink (1996 and '99) and Esteban Toledo (2000) are former or current Nationwide Tour members.