Inside the field: BMW Championship

September 03, 2012
PGA TOUR staff

Who's playing in the BMW Championship? We've analyzed [the field] based on the following categories (please check the bottom for late-breaking updates to the field):

Past winners of the BMW Championship
Justin Rose (2011) Dustin Johnson (2010)
Tiger Woods (1997, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2009)
Steve Stricker (1996) Jim Furyk (2005)
2012 Tournament Winners
Player Event(s) won Tournament
Steve Stricker 1 Hyundai Tournament of Champions
Johnson Wagner 1 Sony Open in Hawaii
Mark Wilson 1 Humana Challenge in partnership with the Clinton Foundation
Brandt Snedeker 1 Farmers Insurance Open
Kyle Stanley 1 Waste Management Phoenix Open
Phil Mickelson 1 AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am
John Huh 1 Mayakoba Golf Classic
Jason Dufner 2 Zurich Classic of New Orleans, HP Byron Nelson Championship
Hunter Mahan 2 World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship, Shell Houston Open
Rory McIlroy 3 The Honda Classic, PGA Championship, Deutsche Bank Championship
Justin Rose 1 World Golf Championships-Cadillac Championship
Ben Curtis 1 Valero Texas Open
Luke Donald 1 Transitions Championship
Tiger Woods 3 Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by MasterCard, the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide Insurance, AT&T National
Bubba Watson 1 The Masters
Carl Pettersson 1 RBC Heritage
Rickie Fowler 1 Wells Fargo Championship
Matt Kuchar 1 THE PLAYERS Championship
Webb Simpson 1 U.S. Open
Zach Johnson 2 Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial, John Deere Classic
Dustin Johnson 1 FedEx St. Jude Classic
Marc Leishman 1 Travelers Championship
Ernie Els 1 British Open
Scott Piercy 1 RBC Canadian Open
Keegan Bradley 1 World Golf Championships-Bridgestone Invitational
Nick Watney 1 The Barclays
Major winners
Player Major(s) won Tournament
Geoff Ogilvy 1 2006 U.S. Open
Graeme McDowell 1 2010 U.S. Open
Charl Schwartzel 1 2011 Masters
Louis Oosthuizen 1 2010 British Open
Webb Simpson 1 2012 U.S. Open
Bubba Watson 1 2012 Masters
Keegan Bradley 1 2011 PGA Championship
Ben Curtis 1 2003 British Open
Zach Johnson 1 2007 Masters
Jim Furyk 1 2003 U.S. Open
Rory McIlroy 2 2011 U.S. Open, 2012 PGA Championship
Vijay Singh 3 1998, 2004 PGA Championship; 2000 Masters
Padraig Harrington 3 2007, 2008 British Open; 2008 PGA Championship
Ernie Els 4 2002, 2012 British Open; 1994, 1997 U.S. Open
Phil Mickelson 4 2004, 2006, 2010 Masters; 2005 PGA Championship
Tiger Woods 14 2000, 2002, 2008 U.S. Open; 1999, 2000, 2006, 2007 PGA Championship; 1997, 2001, 2002, 2005 Masters; 2000, 2005, 2006 British Open
International players
Australia Marc Leishman, Adam Scott, Geoff Ogilvy, Greg Chalmers, John Senden
Canada Graham DeLaet, David Hearn
England Justin Rose, Luke Donald, Ian Poulter, Lee Westwood
Fiji Vijay Singh
Ireland Padraig Harrington
Northern Ireland Rory McIlroy, Graeme McDowell
Korea Seung-Yul Noh, Charlie Wi
Scotland Martin Laird
South Africa Charl Schwartzel, Louis Oosthuizen, Tim Clark, Ernie Els
Spain Sergio Garcia
Sweden Carl Pettersson
Zimbabwe Brendon de Jonge
Younger and older
Young Guns (under 30) Grizzled Vets (40 and over)
Seung-Yul Noh Chris Kirk Charlie Wi Dicky Pride
John Huh Dustin Johnson John Senden Tom Gillis
Bud Cauley Marc Leishman Padraig Harrington Steve Stricker
Rory McIlroy Matt Every Phil Mickelson Bob Estes
Rickie Fowler Kevin Na Ernie Els Vijay Singh
Kyle Stanley Charl Schwartzel Jim Furyk  
Brian Harman Louis Oosthuizen    
Keegan Bradley Ryan Moore    
Webb Simpson Jeff Overton    
Martin Laird