Inside the course: Crooked Stick Golf Club

August 27, 2012
Fast facts
Original architect Pete Dye (1964)
Number of TOUR events as host venue 2 (including 2012)
Yardage history 7,516 (2012)
Par value: 72
Course tour Click here
Course record
Ian Woosnam
John Daly
Jim Gallagher
Kenny Knox
Bob Gilder
Hal Sutton
Fred Couples
* The 1991 PGA Championship was held at Crooked Stick Golf Club.
Course origins
Crooked Stick was Pete Dye's first great golf course design, built in the mid-1960s on flat Indiana farmland that Dye transformed into a links blend pattered after the designs of Alister Mackenzie, Donald Ross and C.B. MacDonald. The course features wide fairways with fair landing areas and demanding approach shots.
Construction of the frist nine was completed in 1965, with the back nine completed two years later. No consecutive holes are laid out in the same direction and golfers must constantly adjust to wind from a different tack. Long holes are followed by short holes, anhd shots calling for right-to-left flight are followed by shots requiring a left-to-right path. The course is designed to test a player's "poise, courage and intelligence" as well as his or her skill.
As for where the course gets its unique name, the story goes that Dye was walking the course and picked up a crooked, gnarled stick and swung it at some stones. This inspired the name "Crooked Stick." --
Tournament course history
Course Location Years
Bellerive CC St. Louis, Mo. 1953, 2008
Beverly CC Chicago, Ill. 1910, 1963, 1967, 1970
Blue Mound CC Milwaukee, Wisc. 1916
Blythefield CC Belmont, Mich. 1961
Brentwood CC Brentwood, Calif. 1950
Brookfield CC Buffalo, N.Y. 1948
Butler National GC Oak Brook, Ill. 1974-1990
Calumet CC Homewood, Ill. 1924
Canterbury GC Beechwood, Ohio 1932,1937
CC of Peoria Peoria, Ill. 1934
Cincinnati GC Cincinnati, Ohio 1905
Cog Hill G&CC (Dubsdread) Lemont, Ill. 1991-2007, 2009
Colonial CC Memphis, Tenn. 1923
Crooked Stick GC Carmel, Ind. 2012
Davenport CC Davenport, Iowa 1936, 1951
Euclid Club Euclid, Ohio 1902
Glen Oak CC Glen Ellyn, Ill. 1915
Glen View GC Chicago, Ill. 1899
Highland G&CC Indianapolis, Ind. 1926
Hinsdale GC Hinsdale, Ill. 1907
Homewood CC Homewood, Ill. 1906
Idlewild CC Flossmoor, Ill. 1912
Indianwood G&CC Lake Orion, Mich. 1930
Interlachen CC Edina, Minn. 1914
Keller GC St. Paul, Minn. 1949
Kent CC Grand Rapids, Mich. 1904, 1911
Kenwood CC Cincinnati, Ohio 1954
Mayfield CC Cleveland, Ohio 1919
Medinah CC Medinah, Ill. 1939, 1962, 1966
Memphis CC Memphis, Tenn. 1913
Miami Valley GC Dayton, Ohio 1931
Midlothian CC Midlothian, Ill. 1901, 1969, 1973
Milwaukee CC Milwaukee, Wisc. 1903
Normandie GC St. Louis, Mo. 1908
North Shore GC Chicago, Ill. 1928
Oakland Hills CC Birmingham, Mich. 1922
Oakwood Club Cleveland Heights, Ohio 1921
Olympia Fields CC Olympia Fields, Ill. 1920, 1927, 1933, 1968, 1971
Ozaukee CC Mequon, Wisc. 1929
Phoenix GC Phoenix, Ariz. 1941, 1942
Pittsburgh Field Club Aspinwall, Pa. 1959
Plum Hollow GC Southfield, Mich. 1957
Portland GC Portland, Ore. 1955
Presidio CC San Francisco, Calif. 1956
Red Run GC Royal Oak, Mich. 1958
River Oaks CC Houston, Texas 1940
Salt Lake City CC Salt Lake City, Utah 1947
Skokie CC Glencoe, Ill. 1909
South Bend CC South Bend, Ind. 1935
Sunset CC St. Louis, Mo. 1946
Sunset Ridge Winnetka, Ill. 1972
Tam OShanter CC Niles, Ill. 1964, 1965
Western G&CC Redford, Mich. 1960
Westmoreland CC Wilmette, Ill. 1917
Westwood CC St. Louis, Mo. 1938, 1952
Youngstown CC Youngstown, Ohio 1925

The TOUR moves to the Indianapolis area for the third week of the PGA TOUR Playoffs for the FedExCup -- the BMW Championship. Learn more about this week's venue, Crooked Stick Golf Club.