Consistent performers in FedExCup Playoffs

Stan Badz/PGA TOUR
Hunter Mahan has never missed a start in the FedExCup Playoffs.

Consistency is rewarded in the FedExCup. Play well during the PGA TOUR Season, and you're rewarded with a higher spot entering the Playoffs. Play well during the Playoffs, and you're chances of winning the FedExCup and its $10 million bonus are increased.

Play well in the history of the FedExCup, and you might be rewarded with a cool nickname, like Mr. September, a tag that Steve Stricker has earned for his consistent high-level play during the Playoffs.

Here's a look at the history of the FedExCup and some of its most consistent performers.


No surprise that two-time FedExCup champ Tiger Woods has been the most consistent winner of Playoffs events. Woods has three wins in the Playoffs -- the 2007 and 2009 BMW Championships and the 2007 TOUR Championship.

Six players have won two FedExCup events.

Steve Stricker won the 2007 Barclays and 2009 Deutsche Bank.

Phil Mickelson won the 2007 Deutsche Bank and 2009 TOUR Championship.

Vijay Singh won the 2008 Barclays and Deutsche Bank.

Camilo Villegas won the 2008 BMW and TOUR Championship.

Dustin Johnson won the 2010 BMW and 2011 Barclays.

Rory McIlroy won the 2012 Deutsche Bank and BMW.


Just two players on the PGA TOUR have played in each event in the first six years of the FedExCup Playoffs (24 events overall). That would be Steve Stricker and Hunter Mahan.

Although neither one has won the FedExCup, each has come close.

Stricker finished second in 2007, the first year of the Playoffs, and was third in 2009.

Mahan was in a playoff with Bill Haas at the TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola in 2011. Had Mahan won, he would've claimed the FedExCup. Instead, Haas won the playoff and claimed the coveted prize.


Just three players have played in the FedExCup Playoffs finale, the TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola, in the first six seasons -- Steve Stricker, Hunter Mahan and Phil Mickelson.

Here's a look at where each one has finished in the final points standings each season.

Year Mickelson Stricker Mahan
2007 finish 3rd 2nd 15th
2008 finish 7th 14th 18th
2009 finish 2nd 3rd 27th
2010 finish 13th 7th 18th
2011 finish 15th 18th 7th
2012 finish 5th 20th 19th


Through the first six years, three players have produced 10 top-10 finishes in individual Playoffs events -- Steve Stricker, Camilo Villegas and Jim Furyk, the latter winning the FedExCup title in 2010.

Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods (a two-time FedExCup champ) each have nine top-10 finishes.

Dustin Johnson and Luke Donald have eight top-10s.

K.J. Choi, Sergio Garcia, Brandt Snedeker (the defending FedExCup champ) and Adam Scott each have seven top-10s.

Just three players, meanwhile, have produced top-10 finishes in each of the four events in a single Playoffs.

In 2007, Rory Sabbatini finished third at The Barclays, tied for 6th at Deutsche Bank, tied for 10th at the BMW and tied for ninth at the TOUR Championship. He finished fourth in final points.

In 2009, Padraig Harrington tied for second at The Barclays, tied for fourth at Deutsche Bank, tied for sixth at the BMW and tied for fourth at the TOUR Championship. He finished seventh in final points.

In 2012, Dustin Johnson tied for third at The Barclays, tied for fourth at Deutsche Bank, tied for sixth at BMW and tied for 10th at the TOUR Championship. He finished eighth in final points.

Seven players has posted at least one top-10 finish in each year of the FedExCup Playoffs since 2009, the first year of the current point structure -- Jim Furyk, Phil Mickelson, Dustin Johnson, Luke Donald, Brandt Snedeker, Matt Kuchar and Nick Watney.

The only player to post at least one top-10 finish in each of the first six Playoffs years is Mickelson.


In 2010, Steve Stricker and Matt Kuchar were the only two players who ranked inside the top 15 of the points standings in every week, starting with the season-opening Hyundai Tournament of Champions. Stricker's worse ranking that year was 14th, and he eventually finished seventh overall. Kuchar's worst ranking was 12th and he eventually finished runner-up to FedExCup champ Jim Furyk.

In 2011, Luke Donald was the only player who ranked inside the top 15 in any week of the season. His worst ranking was 14th and he eventually finished third overall.

In 2012, Rory McIlroy was the only player who did not rank outside the top 20 in any week once he started his PGA TOUR season in week 8 at the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship. He was 20th after that tournament, and from then on, his worst ranking was ninth. He eventually finished second to Brandt Snedeker.

Steve Stricker and Keegan Bradley were the only other players who never ranked outside the top 30 in any week in 2012.


Stroke Average: For those players with a minimum of 34 rounds played in the FedExCup Playoffs, two-time FedExCup champ Tiger Woods has the lowest stroke average at 68.04 (through 56 rounds).

Next is Sergio Garcia (69.16 through 67 rounds), followed by Jim Furyk (69.20 through 85 rounds), Camilo Villegas (69.29 through 66 rounds) and Steve Stricker (69.43 through 93 rounds).

Rounds in 60s: Stricker has the most rounds shot in the 60s at 53, followed by Phil Mickelson (46), Furyk (44) and Adam Scott (40). Woods has 39.

Par or better: Stricker has the most rounds at par or better with 70. Furyk is at 69. Mickelson is at 64.