Notes: Wood's 35-footer on 72nd hole leads to victory

August 19, 2012
Phil Stambaugh, Champions Tour staff

Weather: Partly sunny with highs in the mid-70s and winds from the SW at 5-10 mph.

ENDICOTT, N.Y. -- With Michael Allen posted at 13 under, Willie Wood faced a must-birdie situation on the final hole of regulation to send the event into a playoff at the Dick's Sporting Goods Open on Sunday. He delivered right on cue, holing a 35-foot putt to shoot a 68 and force overtime.


Wood then won the tournament on the first playoff hole with a par after Allen's tee shot on the 18th found the water. Wood overcame a double bogey at the par-3 fourth hole and trailed Brad Faxon by two strokes at the turn. He crept within a stroke with a birdie at the par-5 12th hole and when Faxon faltered and Allen birdied the 18th hole ahead of him, Wood knew what he had to do. It was the first playoff in the six-year history of the Dick's Sporting Goods Open.

• Wood's win today earned him an immediate exemption on the Champions Tour for one year from today and also earned him a two-year exemption into the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai.

• Wood earned a check for $270,000 and collected 270 Charles Schwab Cup points. Wood vaulted from 52nd to 28th on the 2012 money list and now has $440,817 this season.

• Wood ended a victory drought of 16 years, 29 days since his lone triumph on the PGA TOUR at the 1996 Deposit Guaranty Classic in Mississippi. Prior to today, he had gone 189 PGA TOUR events, 105 Tour events and 15 Champions Tour events since last winning.

• Wood becomes the first open qualifier to win on the Champions Tour since Rod Spittle at the 2010 AT&T Championship. It's also the 12th time it's happened in Champions Tour history.

• Today's playoff was the second on the Champions Tour this year. In the first full-field event of 2012, the Allianz Championship in early February, Corey Pavin defeated Peter Senior in overtime for his first victory on the Champions Tour. It was the second playoff ever for Wood. On the PGA TOUR, in 1990 at the Hardee's Classic, Wood lost to Joey Sindelar in a playoff.

• Wood's winning total of 13-under 203 was the highest in tournament history.

• Wood's double-bogey 5 at the par-3 fourth hole (tee shot in water) meant that five of the six different tournament champions at the Dick's Sporting Goods Open overcame a double bogey en route to their victory. Only Loren Roberts (2010) won this event without a double bogey.

• Wood was the fourth different player, and second consecutive, to make the Dick's Sporting Goods Open his first win on the Champions Tour -- R.W. Eaks (2007), Lonnie Nielsen (2009) and John Huston (2011).

Bernhard Langer's T7 performance at this year's Dick's Sporting Goods Open was his 13th top-10 finish in 15 starts on the Champions Tour this year. It was Langer's ninth straight top-10 effort and he hasn't been out of the top 10 since a T17 in late March at the Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic. Langer's career high for top-10 finishes in a year on the Champions Tour is 15 in both 2009 and 2010.

Tom Lehman earned 99 Charles Schwab Cup points for his T3 and increased his total number of points on the year to 2,043. Lehman, the current Schwab Cup leader, now enjoys a 150-point advantage over Langer who earned 53 points this week for his T7 and has 1,893 points on the year. .Roger Chapman is third with 1,756 points and Fred Couples is fourth with 1,530 points. At the end of the official season, the player earning the most Charles Schwab Cup points will receive a $1 million payout. Lehman is bidding to become the first player to win consecutive Charles Schwab Cup titles.

Bob Gilder had the low Sunday round and his 65 moved him up 22 places into a T14. Jim Rutledge made the biggest move, jumping 27 spots into T31 after a 66 on Sunday.

• Local favorite Joey Sindelar has now finished among the top-five in the last two Dick's Sporting Goods Opens. Sindelar closed with a bogey-free 66 today to jump up into a T3, his best performance in this tournament. In 2011, the Horseheads, N.Y., native was T4 at En-Joie. He also was solo fourth in 2008 at En-Joie Golf Course.

Bogey-free Rounds

• Round 1 (5): Kenny Perry (65), Fred Funk (67), Brad Faxon (67), Andy Bean (69), Corey Pavin (70).

• Round 2 (5): Brad Bryant (67), Peter Senior (67), Willie Wood (68), Bill Glasson (69), Joey Sindelar (71).

• Round 3 (8): Joey Sindelar (66), Tom Lehman (67), Bernhard Langer (67), Mark Calcavecchia (67), Mark O'Meara (68), Chien Soon Lu (68), Tommy Armour III (69), Mark Brooks (68).

Scoring averages
  Front 9 Back 9 Total Cumulative 2011 Cumulative
Friday 35.950 35.100 71.050 ---- 71.600
Saturday 36.595 35.177 71.772 71.409 71.224
Sunday 36.585 35.064 71.449 71.442 71.008

• D.A. Weibring withdrew before the start of the round with a heel injury.