Champions Tour award winners collect hardware

Chris Condon/PGA TOUR
January 20, 2012
Champions Tour staff

KA'UPULEHU-KONA, Hawaii -- The Champions Tour award winners in 2011 had their respective trophies presented to them at a dinner function at the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai earlier this week.

Champions Tour Player of the Year Tom Lehman posed on the beach with the Jack Nicklaus Trophy (left in center photo) which recognizes that particular achievement. Lehman earned the Charles Schwab Cup (center) at TPC Harding Park when he totaled 2,422 points in the season-long competition to head of Mark Calcavecchia by 74 points at the Charles Schwab Cup Championship. Lehman also captured the Arnold Palmer Award (right) as the leading money winner. He won $2,081,526 and was the only player to earn more than $2 million in 2011.

Mark Calcavecchia holds the Byron Nelson Award (left photo) as the scoring leader on the Champions Tour in 2011. Calcavecchia averaged a score of 69.04 over 68 rounds last year, taking a total of 4,695 strokes. He had 15 top-10 finishes in 22 starts including his first Champions Tour win at the Boeing Classic when he defeated Russ Cochran in a playoff. Cochran, incidentally, was tied with Tom Lehman as runner-up in the scoring average with 69.22.

Kenny Perry claimed the Rookie of the Year Trophy (right photo) after making 10 starts in his first full season on the Champions Tour, winning the SAS Championship and recording a total of seven top-10 finishes, including a playoff loss (with teammate Scott Hoch) at the Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf and a tie for second at the 3M Championship. Perry was the highest rookie on the money list at No. 15 with $964,851.