Roberts on Schwab Cup bubble with one event left

October 13, 2011
PGA TOUR staff

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. -- With just one event left to qualify for the Charles Schwab Cup Championship, several Champions Tour players need a strong performance at this week's AT&T Championship in order to secure a spot at the season-ending event in San Francisco early next month.


Among the list of players in precarious positions on the money list include 2007 and '09 Charles Schwab Cup winner Loren Roberts, currently ranked No. 29, after his first winless season to-date since his 2005 Champions Tour debut. Other notable players "on the bubble" include No. 31 Bob Gilder, No. 36 Hal Sutton and No. 40 Bob Tway. The top-30 players on the money list at the completion of play on Sunday at the AT&T Championship in San Antonio, Texas, will qualify for the Charles Schwab Cup Championship to be held Nov. 2-6 at TPC Harding Park.

Players that have already secured themselves a spot in the field include Tom Lehman, current leader of the Charles Schwab Cup competition and the Tour's leading money winner, who will make his second appearance at the championship. He is followed on the points list by Boeing Classic winner Mark Calcavecchia (No. 2), Peter Senior (No. 3) and two-time defending champion at the Charles Schwab Cup Championship John Cook (No. 4).

25. Chip Beck $599,353
26. Hale Irwin $585,203
27. Tommy Armour III $557,992
28. Brad Bryant $550,251
29. Loren Roberts $547,579
30. Tom Pernice Jr. $527,775
31. Bob Gilder $523,310
32. Mark McNulty $502,027
33. Fred Funk $494,758
34. Joe Ozaki $491,970
35. Mike Goodes $491,841
36. Hal Sutton $438,126
37. Larry Mize $422,614
38. Mark Brooks $409,276
39. Ted Schulz $401,556
40. Bob Tway $388,515

Below is a look at the current bubble watch for this year's Charles Schwab Cup Championship (positions 25-40 on money list entering this week's AT&T Championship):

Featuring the top-30 money leaders of the season, the Charles Schwab Cup Championship is the culminating event in the Champions Tour's "Road to the Charles Schwab Cup," a year-long competition that awards points to top-10 finishers and ties in 24 official money events. Both the winner of the tournament, as well as the year-long Charles Schwab Cup winner, will be crowned at TPC Harding Park on Nov. 6.