Round 2 Notebook: Dick's Sporting Goods Open

June 25, 2011
Dave Senko, Champions Tour staff

Mark Wiebe posted his second consecutive bogey-free round and will head into Sunday's final round with a two-stroke margin over rookie John Huston. Jay Don Blake trails by three strokes, while Joey Sindelar, a two-time winner of the B.C. Open at the En-Joie Golf Course, heads a group of four players four strokes back.


• Should Wiebe prevail on Sunday he would become the first back-to-back winner on the Champions Tour since John Cook earlier this year. However, the first of Cook's back-to-back wins came at the close of last season at the Charles Schwab Cup Championship. The other came in the year's inaugural event at the Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai. The last player to win back-to back events in one season was Russ Cochran last year when he won the Posco E&C Songdo Championship and the SAS Championship.

• Going back to his most recent start, Wiebe has a stretch of 64 holes without a bogey.

• Wiebe is two for three on the Champions Tour when he has been the leader after two rounds. He won at the 2007 SAS Championship and the 2008 Cap Cana Championship. The other time he led after 36 holes he finished T5 at the 2008 Outback Steakhouse Pro-Am.

• Current runner-up John Huston is seeking his first Tour victory since winning the 2003 Southern Farm Bureau Classic, a span of 155 events on three Tours.

• In the four-year history of the Dick's Sporting Goods Open, two of the four second-round leader/co-leaders has gone on to win this event -- R.W. Eaks (2007) and Eduardo Romero (2008).

Lonnie Nielsen, the 2009 Dick's Sporting Goods Open winner, is in line for his first top-10 finish of the year. Nielsen has posted rounds of 70-68 and will begin Sunday's final round T8.

Peter Jacobsen (currently T8) could be in line for his best finish since the 2007 Toshiba Classic where he was T5. His last top-10 finish came at The Walmart First Tee Open at Pebble Beach in 2007 when he was T10.

• The average Sunday score by a winner in the first four years of the Dick's Sporting Goods Open is 64.75. R.W. Eaks' 10-under 62 in the final round of the inaugural event is the tournament-record score. Eduardo Romero, the 2008 champion, closed with a 69, while Lonnie Nielsen, the 2009 winner, fired a final-round 63. A year ago, Loren Roberts closed with a 65.

• Jim Gallagher Jr., shaved eight strokes off his opening-round effort when he shot a 6-under-par 66 on Saturday. His performance helped him move up 35 spots from T57 to T22.

• Hole No. 15 remains the most difficult with an average score of 4.390. There have been just 13 birdies through the first two rounds.

• The scoring average dropped nearly a stroke from Friday's average of 71.600 to 70.848 on Saturday. There were 22 rounds in the 60s compared to 17 in the opening round. A total of 52 players finished below par, nine more than on Friday.

• Monday qualifier Dick Mast is currently T8 and could earn a spot in next week's Montreal Championship should he post a top-10 finish as a non-exempt player.