First-round notebook: Dick's Sporting Goods Open

June 24, 2011
Dave Senko, Champions Tour Staff

• Defending champion Loren Roberts withdrew prior to the start of the round with a shoulder/back injury. Fred Holton took his spot in the field. Mike McCullough also withdrew prior to the start and he was replaced by Mike Hulbert. Craig Stadler withdrew after six holes due to a back problem.


Hal Sutton's streak of bogey-free holes ended at 90 when he made a bogey at No. 5 on Friday. Sutton had started his streak on the fifth hole in the second round of the Principal Charity Classic.

• Co-leader John Huston (7-under-par 65) is making just his third start on the Champions Tour after turning 50 on June 1. A seven-time winner on the PGA TOUR, this was just Huston's second visit to the En-Joie Golf Course. He finished T20 in the 2005 B.C. Open. He was T15 in his most recent start at the Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn.

Mark Wiebe continued his strong play. The winner of the most recent event at the Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn, Wiebe matched John Huston's 7-under-par 65 to share the lead.

Bill Glasson had the day's lone eagle on No. 16. Glasson also had the day's craziest scorecard. His 4-under-par 68 included six pars, seven birdies, one eagle, three bogeys and a double bogey.

Peter Jacobsen's 5-under-par 67 was his low round of the year and his best round since shooting a final-round 67 at the 2010 Toshiba Classic. Jacobsen is currently T5.

• Wiebe, John Huston, Dan Forsman, Nick Price, Jay Don Blake and Jim Thorpe all had bogey-free rounds.

Ronnie Black, Keith Fergus, Bill Glasson, Steve Lowery, Dana Quigley and Peter Senior all had 11 one-putts on Friday.

• In his first start since his victory at the Principal Charity Classic at age 60, Bob Gilder shot a 1-under-par 71. Gilder recently ended a streak of 178 consecutive events for which he was eligible when he did not play at the Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn due to a European trip he had scheduled with his wife. Gilder's streak is second all-time behind Dana Quigley at 278 in succession.