Field set for 34th Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf

April 15, 2011
PGA TOUR staff

SAVANNAH, Ga. -- With the passing of today's 5:00 p.m. ET commitment deadline, the field is set for next week's Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. World Golf Hall of Fame members Bob Charles and Gary Player will defend their title when the Demaret Division action kicks off the week Monday, April 18 and Tuesday, April 19. John Bland and Graham Marsh defend their title in the 36-hole Raphael Division Friday, April 22, as do Mark O'Meara and Nick Price, defending champions in the 54-hole Legends Division, which offers official money and valuable Charles Schwab Cup points.


Collectively, the 72 teams competing in all three divisions own 979 PGA TOUR titles, including 77 major championship victories. The field also will feature 16 World Golf Hall of Fame members, six of which (Bob Charles, Gary Player, Billy Casper, Lee Trevino and Gene Littler) are competing Monday and Tuesday in the Demaret Division competition. Doug Ford, who is competing in the Demaret Division with Billy Maxwell, will be inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame next month. There are three World Golf Hall of Fame members competing in the Raphael Division (Ben Crenshaw, Tony Jacklin and Curtis Strange) and seven in the Legends Division (Hubert Green, Hale Irwin, Tom Kite, Larry Nelson, Nick Price, Lanny Wadkins and Tom Watson).

There are also a number of new faces making their Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf debut in 2011. Two-time PGA TOUR winner Tommy Armour III and his partner Mark Brooks, winner of the 1996 PGA Championship, are both making their first starts at the Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf and will compete in the Legends Division. Other first-timers include seven-time PGA TOUR winner Bill Glasson and partner David Peoples, also competing in the Legends Division, along with the team of Gary Hallberg and Ted Schulz. Jim Gallagher, Jr. will make his first start with partner Brad Bryant, who played for the first time in 2010. Kenny Perry, a 14-time winner on the PGA TOUR, will make his Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf debut with partner Scott Hoch. Mark Calcavecchia, winner of the 1989 British Open, will also make his first start in the event, partnering with Ken Green. Ian Baker-Finch, winner of the 1991 British Open, will also make his first start.

"Once again the Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf will feature another outstanding field filled with the greatest champions in the game," said Executive Director Joe Rotellini. "We're excited to welcome these world-class players to the city of Savannah and I know golf fans throughout the region will be treated to exciting action next week at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa."

Champions Tour fan favorite Fred Couples will partner with Jay Haas, one of his assistant captains at The Presidents Cup 2009, for the second-consecutive year. The duo finished T4 in 2010

The Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf will be televised by the Golf Channel and CBS. Golf Channel will provide live coverage on Friday from 12:30-2:30 pm while CBS will televise the weekend's play live from 1:00-3:00 p.m. on both Saturday and Sunday (all times are local).

2011 Liberty Mutual Legends of Golf field
(Mon, 4/18-Tues, 4/19) (Fri, 4/22-Sat, 4/23) (Fri, 4/22-Sun, 4/24)
1. Tommy Aaron / Lou Graham 1. John Bland / Graham Marsh 1. Michael Allen / David Frost
2. Jim Albus/Jim Dent 2. Jim Colbert / Bob Murphy 2. Tommy Armour III / Mark Brooks
3. Butch Baird/Bobby Nichols 3. Ben Crenshaw / Curtis Strange 3. Andy Bean / Chien Soon Lu
4. Miller Barber / Jim Ferree 4. Bob Eastwood / Bob Lunn 4. Olin Browne / Tom Purtzer
5. Frank Beard / Larry Ziegler 5. Dave Eichelberger / Tom Wargo 5. Brad Bryant / Jim Gallagher, Jr.
6. Al Besselink/Doug Sanders 6. Wayne Grady / Mark McCumber 6. Mark Calcavecchia / Ken Green +
7. Don Bies / Tom Shaw 7. Mark Hayes / Pete Oakley 7. Russ Cochran / Mark Wiebe
8. Homero Blancas / Bob Toski 8. Jerry Heard / John Mahaffey 8. John Cook / Joey Sindelar
9. Billy Casper / Ken Still 9. Tony Jacklin / Larry Laoretti 9. Fred Couples / Jay Haas
10. Bob Charles / Gary Player 10. Mark James / Blaine McCallister 10. Alen Doyle / Bruce Vaughan +
11. Charles Coody / Dale Douglass 11. Steve Jones / Doug Tewell 11. David Eger / Mark McNulty
12. Bruce Devlin / Larry Mowry 12. Gary Koch / Roger Maltbie 12. Keith Fergus / Wayne Levi
13. Lee Elder/Charlie Sifford 13. Bruce Lietzke / Bill Rogers 13. Bruce Fleisher / Tom Jenkins
14. Dow Finsterwald/Bob Goalby 14. Jerry Pate / Denis Watson 14. Dan Forsman / Mike Reid
15. Jack Fleck / Howie Johnson 15. Jay Sigel / Dave Stockton 15. Bob Gilder / Eduardo Romero
16. Doug Ford / Billy Maxwell   16. Bill Glasson / David Peoples
17. Al Geiberger/Jimmy Powell   17. Hubert Green / Leonard Thompson
18. Gibby Gilbert/J.C. Snead   18. Gary Hallberg / Ted Schulz
19. Mike Hill/Lee Trevino   19. Morris Hatalsky / Don Pooley
20. Tommy Jacobs/Johnny Pott   20. Scott Hoch / Kenny Perry
21. Don January / Gene Littler   21. Hale Irwin / Larry Nelson
    22. John Jacobs / Fuzzy Zoeller
    23. Peter Jacobsen / D.A. Weibring
    24. Tom Kite / Gil Morgan
    25. Tom Lehman / Corey Pavin
    26. Larry Mize / Hal Sutton
    27. Andy North / Tom Watson
    28. Mark OMeara / Nick Price
    29. Joe Ozaki / Ian Baker-Finch +
    30. Tom Pernice, Jr. / Bob Tway
    31. Dana Quigley / Jim Thorpe
    32. Loren Roberts / Scott Simpson
    33. Peter Senior / Sandy Lyle +
    34. Jeff Sluman / Craig Stadler
    35. Des Smyth / Rod Spittle
    36. Bobby Wadkins / Lanny Wadkins +
+ Sponsor Exemption

Admission is free of charge for Demaret Division action on Monday, April 18 and Tuesday, April 19. Daily tickets for Wednesday-Sunday are on sale now with prices starting at $15 (The price of single day tickets increases to $25 at the gate). Week long River Club passes are $75 and include admission into the River Club Pavilion Friday- Sunday. Tickets may be purchased by visiting the tournament's web site at