E-Notebook: The Principal Charity Classic

May 27, 2008
PGA TOUR staff

Gil Morgan, the 2006 winner of this event and a runner-up in 2001, leads all players in total earnings, with $491,665, just a shade ahead of Jim Thorpe, with $490,891. Thorpe was the 2001 champion and tied for second in 2003. Tom Jenkins (440,754), Bob Gilder ($438,457) and Bruce Lietzke ($390,100) are the others in the top five.


Mike Goodes earned a spot in this week's event after finishing fourth at the Regions Charity Classic near Birmingham two weeks ago, automatically qualifying him for the next open event.

• In its brief history, The Principal Charity Classic has seen its second-round leader enjoy great success, with five of seven second-round leaders/co-leaders going on to win. Jim Thorpe (2001), Don Pooley (2003), D.A. Weibring (2004), Gil Morgan (2006) and Jay Haas (2007) were 36-hole leaders who went on to victory. Bob Gilder (2002) and Tom Jenkins (2005) each came from two strokes off the pace Sunday to win.

• The final two holes at the Glen Oaks Country Club proved difficult for the top-15 finishers last year. During the event, only two players in the top 15 made a birdie on No. 17 (Morris Hatalsky and Andy Bean, both in the second round) and only six of 15 made birdies on No. 18 in the tournament. Brad Bryant did it in the second and third rounds. The 17th hole was the most difficult in 2007, and No. 18 ranked second. During the 54-hole event, the top-15 players were 10-over par on No. 17, while the same players were 1-over par on No. 18


• Five players over the age of 60 finished in the top 10 at last year's tournament. In addition to Jay Sigel (tied for fourth) and Hale Irwin (tied for seventh), Bruce Summerhays, Dave Stockton and Vicente Fernandez all tied for 10th.

• This week's field includes five former winners of the John Deere Classic. D.A. Weibring, who won in Des Moines in 2004, is a three-time winner of the Quad Cities event (1979, 1991, 1995). He was also the runner-up in 1993. Dave Stockton (1974), Scott Hoch (1980 and 1984), Mark Wiebe (1986) and Joey Sindelar (1990) round out the list. Stockton's victory was a one-stroke margin over Bruce Fleisher, while Curtis Strange was runner-up to Hoch in 1980. Hoch also prevailed by five strokes over George Archer, Stockton and Vance Heafner in 1984.


• With his 2006 victory, Gil Morgan became the oldest winner in tournament history at 59 years, 8 months, 12 days. D.A. Weibring became the event's youngest winner when he triumphed two days short of his 51st birthday in 2004.

• You can't have a much closer race than the one in the Charles Schwab Cup competition. Bernhard Langer leads Jay Haas by a single point, 1413-1412.

• More on Langer-Haas: Last week, Haas was the winner with Langer second. Langer leads the Tour in Scoring Average at 69.74 while Haas is second at 69.79. Haas, however, leads the All-Around category with Langer in second. Finally, Langer leads the money list with Haas right behind him.

Joey Sindelar, a rookie on the Champions Tour, had his best finish to date when he T3 last week at the Senior PGA Championship. He's 31st on the money list after only six starts with $258,251.

Ronnie Black, a two-time winner on the PGA TOUR, will make his Champions Tour debut this week at the Principal Charity Classic in Des Moines.