Photo Gallery

The Tour Report
file
Round 3 highlights
  • Round Recaps

    Round 3 highlights

Round 3 highlights
  • Round Recaps

    Round 3 highlights

PEBBLE BEACH, Calif. -- How well is Jimmy Walker playing?

Well, the man who leads the FedExCup has only made one bogey in 54 holes and has opened up a six-stroke lead heading into the final round of the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am.

The red-hot Walker, who is bidding for his third win in eight starts this season, fired a 67 in wet and windy conditions on Saturday to move to 13 under. The round of 4 under at Monterey Peninsula was the low on any of the three courses in the third round and staked Walker to the first third-round lead of his career.

Play was suspended by darkness at 8:43 p.m. ET (5:43 p.m. PT) after a delay of two hours and 20 minutes when wind gusts of up to 36 mph began to actually blow balls around on several greens. The third round will resume at 10:30 a.m. ET (7:30 a.m. PT). 

Walker's six-stroke advantage is the largest here since 2005 when Phil Mickelson was seven ahead of Greg Owen entering the final round. Walker made up two and three shots on Sunday in his two previous victories.

"Who knows what the weather's going to do," Walker said. "I know Pebble Beach is a tough golf course, especially with the winds. I'm excited to be here, to be in this position. This is why you play golf and work hard to be in this position."

Tim Wilkinson and Hunter Mahan are tied for second after rounds of 69 and 72, respectively. Richard Lee is alone in fourth at 6 under while Phil Mickelson, Blake Adams, Kevin Na, Ryan Palmer and Pat Perez are tied, another stroke behind.

comments powered by Disqus
comments powered by Disqus