Photo Gallery

The Tour Report
file
  • Brutal winds force suspension of play

UPDATE: Play will resume at 4:30 p.m. ET (1:30 p.m. PT)

PEBBLE BEACH, Calif. -- With winds gusting to as much as 36 mph, tournament officials have suspended play during the third round of the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am.

The problem began at Pebble Beach when Trevor Immelman's ball was blown off line at the fourth hole. Play was suspended at 2:11 p.m. ET (11:11 a.m. PT) and within 10 minutes officials decided to bring players off the course.

"It's a shame," said Mark Russell, vice president of rules and competitions for the PGA TOUR. "... We missed the rain but the wind got us."

This is the second suspension of play this week at the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am. The first round was delayed two hours and 51 minutes when standing water developed on the greens during an extended period of steady rain.

comments powered by Disqus