September 13 2013
By Helen Ross, PGATOUR.COM
LAKE FOREST, Ill. -- Tiger Woods probably wasn't particularly happy when he left the the first hole on Friday thinking he had made a double bogey.
When Woods got to the scoring area about four hours later, though, things got even worse. Woods was assessed a two-stroke penalty because he violated Rule 18-2a after his ball moved as he attempted to remove some loose impediments before hitting his third shot at the 363-yard par 4.
The infraction was captured by a PGA TOUR Entertainment crew. Andy Pazder, the TOUR's executive vice president and chief of operations, was contacted and he, in turn, called Slugger White, the vice president of rules and competition for the PGA TOUR.
The rules violation occurred after Woods hit his second shot over the green and onto some dirt under a stand of trees during the second round of the BMW Championship. According to White, Woods thought the ball had rocked back and forth but stayed in position.
"He had a pretty large loose impediment behind his ball, which he moved, was no problem at all, and there was a little stick of some sort kind of obviously next to his ball, and when he rolled that, the ball in fact moved," White said. "He knew there was movement there, but it's like very was adamant that it oscillated, it stayed there.
"But this video was at the site, and the ball did, in fact, move.'
Had Woods put the ball back in place, he would have been penalized one stroke. Since he didn't replace the ball, Woods received a two-stroke penalty and the round of 72 left him at 4 under for the tournament, which put him in a tie for 13th and seven shots off the lead held by Brandt Snedeker and Jim Furyk.
White characterized Woods' mood at first as "disbelieving." Woods signed his scorecard but White had him look at the videotape before he turned it in.
"It's pretty clear that the ball did move," White said.